WU LibrariesWU Libraries: Department of Special Collections
Search Special Collections Website

Click to go to Archives home page University Archives navigation bar with links to home, finding aids, forms and procedures, and WU History Click to go to Archives home page Click to go to Archives finding aids Click to go to Archives forms and procedures Click to go to WU History
The contents you are looking for have moved. You will be redirected to the new location automatically in 5 seconds. Please bookmark the updated page at http://libguides.wustl.edu/wustl-faq

Washington University in St. Louis Nobel Prize Winners

As of 2014, there are total of 24 people associated with Washington University who have received a Nobel Prize. More information about the Prize and past winners can be found at the web site of the Nobel Foundation or by consulting the University Archive research guide.


1927:*Arthur H. Compton (1892-1962), Faculty of Arts and Sciences 1920-1923 and 1945-1962, Chancellor 1945-1953


1970: Luis F. Leloir, Faculty of Medicine 1944

1980: Paul Berg, Faculty of Medicine 1954-1959

2004: Aaron Ciechanover, M.D., D.Sc., Research Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry at Technion-Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa, Israel and Visiting Professor of Pediatrics 1987-

2012: Brian K. Kobilka, M.D., medical resident at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine, 1981-84

Economic Science

1993: *Douglass C. North, Faculty of Arts & Sciences, 1983-

Physiology or Medicine

1943: Edward A. Doisy (1893-1986), Faculty of Medicine, 1919-1923

1944: *Joseph Erlanger (1874-1965), Chairman, Department of Physiology 1910-1946

1944: *Herbert Gasser (1888-1963), Faculty of Medicine, 1916-1931

1947: *Carl F. Cori (1896-1984), Faculty of Medicine 1931-1984

1947: *Gerty T. Cori (1896-1957), Faculty of Medicine 1931-1957

1959: *Arthur Kornberg, Chairman, Department of Microbiology, 1952-1959

1959: Severo Ochoa, Faculty of Medicine 1940-1942

1969: Alfred Hershey (1908-1997), Faculty of Medicine 1934-1950

1971: Earl Sutherland (1915-1974), M.D. 42, Resident in Internal Medicine 1943-1945, Faculty of Medicine, 1945-1953

1974: Christian de Duve, Faculty of Medicine 1946-1947

1978: Daniel Nathans (1928-1999), M.D. 54

1978: Hamilton O. Smith, Washington University Medical Service 1956-1957

1980: George D. Snell, Faculty of Arts & Sciences 1933-1934

1986: *Stanley Cohen, Faculty of Arts & Sciences 1953-1959

1986: *Rita Levi-Montalcini, Faculty of Arts & Sciences, 1948-

1992: Edwin G. Krebs, M.D. 43, Resident in Internal Medicine and then a Research Fellow in Biological Chemistry 1945-1948

1998: Robert F. Furchgott, Ph.D., Faculty of Medicine, 1949-1956


Another Nobel Prize winner connected with Washington University is T.S. (Thomas Stearns) Eliot (1888-1965), winner of the prize for Literature in 1948. A native of St. Louis and grandson of the co-founder of Washington University, Eliot received a diploma in 1905 from Smith Academy, the boys college preparatory division of Washington University. Eliot earned a bachelors degree from Harvard University in 1909 and a masters degree from Harvard in 1910.

*Did significant portion of award-winning work at Washington University

[Archives Home]

Page maintained by: University Archives (srooney@wustl.edu)
© 1993-2015 Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri, USA