Databases

LibKey Nomad Expanded

By Alison Verbeck on May 29, 2020

The  LibKey Nomad browser extension has been expanded to work with Web of Science and Scopus. With LibKey Nomad installed in the Chrome browser, researchers will benefit from cover images, article in context links and one-click access to PDFs. These elements appear as an organic part of the datab...

SAGE Research Methods

By Alison Verbeck on November 14, 2019

We have purchased the SAGE Core Collection and are trialing additional modules.   SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods...

Wiley Digital Archives Trial

By Alison Verbeck on November 14, 2019

We will be trialing four databases from now until December 31: Royal College of Physicians:  Founded in 1518 by a Royal Charter from King Henry VIII, the Royal College of Physicians of London is a professional membership body for physicians, with 34,000 members and fellows across the globe. It is...

Scholarly communications selected links from June 2018

By Ruth Lewis on June 29, 2018

Impact factor/research evaluation and metrics in the news: Journal Citation Reports (JCR) 2018 Release (JCR 2017 data) is now available. More info. High-profile indexing service punishes 20 journals, issues unusual warning about five others, from Retraction Watch. “Clarivate is stripping 20...

Ovid databases, ebook and ejournals now available

By Ruth Lewis on June 29, 2018

Starting July 1, 2018, Ovid will no longer require a Username and Password to access and will be available to all WU users. In addition to databases (Ovid Medline and Health and Psychosocial Instruments), it will include over 1000 fulltext ebooks and over 500 fulltext ejournals. Many thanks to Be...

1findr and more on Dimensions

By Ruth Lewis on April 30, 2018

The announcement of the launch of 1findr makes me wonder how many other products like this are in the pipeline. The free version of 1findr looks useful and worth exploring. The database so far contains records of “90 million peer-reviewed journal articles”. It seems logical to me that...

Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876–NEW DATABASE

By Joy on March 21, 2018

Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876: The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique...

New Electronic Resources at University Libraries

By Julie Hale on March 21, 2018

University Libraries recently purchased a number of new eresources. Here are some details about the collections. Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876): This collection has been created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society and features more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. A compreh...

Dimensions, a new citation database from Digital Science

By Ruth Lewis on January 31, 2018

The Dimensions web site is full of information about different aspects of this resource. Free searching is available at app.dimensions.ai/discover/publication. It covers 89 million publication records, 870 million citations, 50 million Altmetric mentions and about 20 million research profiles. Yo...

SciVal now available at WUSTL

By Ruth Lewis on September 25, 2017

SciVal is now available at Washington University. Becker Medical Library purchased access for the entire campus. Note: To access SciVal each user must create a SciVal account or use an existing account for another Elsevier product, such as Scopus or Science Direct. “SciVal enables you to vi...