Football 1914

Washington vs Saint Louis University
One-hundred years ago on Francis Field

football-WU-SLU-1914

Visible in the background are the (then) brand-new Francis Field Gates, installed the previous spring.   At this time, WU teams were known as the “Pikers.”   They would not be renamed the “Bears” until the 1920s.

Discover more about the history and origin of the Francis Field Gates and sports at WU on Bear’s Repeating, the blog of WU University Archives.

About the author

Miranda Rectenwald is Curator of Local History, Washington University Special Collections. More info.