Faculty Library Committee

2019-2020 Members

(As of July 1, 2019)

  • Patrick Fowler, Associate Professor of Social Work; Brown School of Social Work — chair
  • Elizabeth Childs, Etta & Mark Steinberg Professor of Art History; Arts & Sciences
  • Julia Deems, Lecturer in Communications; Olin Business School
  • Denise Head, Associate Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences; Arts & Sciences
  • Christine Johnson, Associate Professor of History; Arts & Sciences
  • David Konig, Professor of Law; School of Law
  • Marvin Marcus, Professor of Japanese Language and Literature; East Asian Languages and Cultures
  • Eric Mumford, Rebecca & John Voyles Professor of Architecture; Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts
  • Alvitta Ottley, Assistant Professor of Computer Science & Engineering; McKelvey School of Engineering
  • David Queller, Spencer T. Olin Professor of Biology; Arts & Sciences
  • Rebecca Treiman, Baker Professor of Child Developmental Psychology, Arts & Sciences
  • Abram Van Engen, Associate Professor of English; Arts & Sciences
  • Michael Wysession, Professor of Earth & Planetary Science; Arts & Sciences
Ex Officio
  • Denise Stephens, Vice Provost and University Librarian; University Libraries

Committee Charge

The Faculty Library Committee will:

  1. review planning proposals and budget documents provided by the library administration, particularly as they pertain to resource decisions and space allocation;
  2. recommend changes to those proposals and documents based on needs of the faculty;
  3. review the consultation process used by the library to ensure that schools, departments, programs, and centers are all equally engaged and consulted; and
  4. collaborate broadly with the University Librarian and advocate to the University leadership for the library and its priorities.