Architectonic Fixations: Photographs from
the Collection of Russell Sturgis

SELECT IMAGES FROM THE COLLECTION
IN LOW RESOLUTION (50-80K) .JPG FORMAT

CITY AND COUNTRY AND/OR
HISTORICAL EPOCH OF ORIGIN
BOX NUMBER
Benabil, Syria 01
[Innsbruck], Austro-Hungarian Empire - Photographer: Unidentified 02
Prague (Praha), Austro-Hungarian Empire 02
Sebenico (Sibenik), Austro-Hungarian Empire 03
Vienna (Wien), Austro-Hungarian Empire, Church of St. Stephen - Photographer: L.L. 03
Antwerp (Anvers or Antwerpen), Belgium - Photographer: Unidentified 04
Antwerp (Anvers or Antwerpen), Belgium, Porte D'L'Escant, Designed by Rubens, carved by Queilin - Photographer: Unidentified 04
Bruges (Brugge), Belgium 05
Bruges (Brugge), Belgium 05
Brussels (Bruxelles or Brussel), Belgium, Church of the Sablon - Photographer: N.D. 06
Furnes (Veurne), Belgium 06
Ghent (Gent), Belgium 07
Louvain (Leuven), Belgium 07
Malines (Mechelen), Belgium 08
Oudenaarde, (Audenarde) Belgium 08
Villers, Belgium 09
Agecroft, England 10
Battle Abbey, England 10
Bamburgh, England 11
Broadway, England 11
Canterbury, England 12
Canterbury, England 12
Chatsworth, England - Photographer: J.V. 13
Chester, England 13
Crowland Abbey, England 14
Durham, England 14
Ely, England 15
Fountains Abbey, England 15
Godshill, England 16
Haddon Hall, England - Photographer: Frith 16
Isle of Wight, England 17
King's Lynn, England 17
Lichfield, England 18
Lincoln, England 18
London (Hampton Court), England - Photographer: G.W.W. 19
London (Holborn Street), England, Staple Inn - Photographer: G.W.W. 19
Moreton, England 20
Much Wenlock, England 20
Norwich, England 21
Oxford, England, Oriel College Library - Photographer: Unidentified 21
Rivaulx, England 22
St. Albans, England 22
Salisbury, England 23
Salisbury, England 23
Tintern Abbey, England 24
Wareham, England 24
Wells, England 25
Whitby Abbey, England 25
Windsor, England - Photographer: G.W.W. 26
York, England - Photographer: G.W.W. 26
Abousimel, Egypt 27
Karnak, Egypt - Photographer: Unidentified 27
Medinetabou, Egypt - Photographer: Bonfils 28
Philae, Egypt - Photographer: Bonfils 28
Abbeville, France 29
Amboise, France 29
Amiens, France 30
Arles, France 30
Auray, France 31
Bayonne, France 31
Beaune, France 32
Bernay, France 32
Bordeaux, France - Photographer: Unidentified 33
Bourges, France 33
Bourges, France 34
Caen, France 34
Carassonne, France 35
Chartres, France 35
Chenonceaux, France 36
Comfort, France 36
Dangeau, France 37
Dijon, France, Church of the Carmelites - Photographer: Unidentified 37
Falaise, France 38
Fountainebleau, France - Photographer: Unidentified 38
Hantecombe, France 39
Josselin, France 39
La Rochelle, France 40
Loudon, France 40
Mainenon, France 41
Meillant, France 41
Mont-Saint-Michel, France 42
Nancy, France 42
Noyan, France 43
Orthez, France 43
Paris, France, Church of S. Etienne-Du Mont, Tomb of Ste. Genevieve - Photographer: Unidentified 44
Paris (Notre Dame), France - Photographer: Unidentified 44
Paris (Expositions), France 45
Paris (Monuments), France, Fountain of the Medicis, Luxemburg Gardens - Photographer: Unidentified
Paris (Hotels), France, Hotel Soubise - Photographer: Unidentified
45
46
Paris (Libraries), France, Bibliotech National - Photographer: Unidentified 47
Paris (Louvre), France - Photographer: Unidentified 47
Paris (Public Buildings), France, Trocadero, Sale du Fetes - Photographer: Unidentified 48
Pierrefonds, France 49
Pleyben, France 49
Puyenveley, France 50
Quimper, France 50
Rays, France 51
Reims, France 51
Rouen, France 52
Sandre, France 53
Sleudesserent, France 53
S. Mariedelemer, France 54
Wandrille, France 54
Solgne, France 55
Toulouse, France 55
Troyes, France 56
Troyes, France 56
Valence, France 57
Versailles, France - Photographer: Unidentified 57
Versailles, France - Photographer: Unidentified 58
Vienne, France 58
Museum Collections (France)
Museum Collections (France)
59
59
Aachen (Aix-la-Chapelle), Germany 60
Aachen (Aix-la-Chapelle), Germany 60
Aschaffenburg, Germany 60
Berlin, Germany, Church, 1780 - Photographer: L.L. 61
Bremen, Germany 61
Brunswick (Braunschweig or Brunswich), Germany 62
Constanz (Konstanz), Germany 62
Cologne (Koln), Germany - Photographer: Unidentified 63
Cologne (Koln), Germany - Photographer: Unidentified 63
Danzig (Gdansk, Poland), Germany 64
Dresden, Germany, The Zwinger - Photographer: Unidentified 64
Freiburg-im-Breisgau, Germany 65
Goslar, Germany 65
Hameln (Hamelin), Germany 66
Heidelberg, Germany, Castle Kaiserall - Photographer: Unidentified 66
Krewznach ([Bad] Kreuznach), Germany 67
Limburg an der Lahn, Germany 67
Lubeck, Germany 68
Lubeck, Germany 68
Mainz, Germany, from Tower of St. Stephen - Photographer: Unidentified 69
Marburg an der Lahn, Germany 70
Miltenberg (im Bayern), Germany 70
Munich (Munchen), Germany - Photographer: L.L. 71
Munster, Germany 71
Nuremberg (Nurnberg), Germany - Photographer: Unidentified 72
Nuremberg (Nurnberg), Germany - Photographer: Unidentified 72
Potsdam, Germany 73
Ratisbon (Regensburg), Germany 73
Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany 74
Speier, Germany 74
Strassburg (Strasbourg, France), Germany - Photographer: L.I. 75
Stuttgart, Germany 75
Trier (Treves), Germany 76
Ulm, Germany 76
Wittenburg, Germany 77
Worms, Germany 77
Agrigentum, Greece 78
Athens, Greece - Photographer: Unidentified 78
Athens, Greece - Photographer: Unidentified 79
Athens, Greece - Photographer: Unidentified 79
Amsterdam, Holland, Voorburgwal - Photographer: Unidentified 80
Hoorn, Holland 80
Almafi, Italy 81
Arezzo, Italy 81
Bergamo, Italy 82
Biella, Italy 82
Bologne, Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 83
Bologne, Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 83
Brindisi, Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 84
Catania, Italy 84
Como, Italy, Garden at Villa Serbelloni - Photographer: Brogi 85
Ferrara, Italy 85
Florence (Firenza [City Views]) - Photographer: Unidentified 86
Florence (Firenza [City Views]) - Photographer: Niccolo d'Arezzo e Giovanni d'Amrogio 86
Florence (Firenza [S. Miniato]) - Photographer: Brogi 87
Florence (Firenza [S. Spirito]) - Photographer: Unidentified 87
Florence (Firenza [S. Maria Novella]) - Photographer: Alinari 88
Florence (Firenza [Palazzo Larderell]) - Photographer: Alinari 88
Florence (Firenza [Palazzo Pisani]) - Photographer: Unidentified 89
Florence (Firenza [Palazzo Vechio]) - Photographer: Alinari 89
Florence (Firenza [Loggia]) - Photographer: Unidentified 90
Genoa, Italy, Piazza Acqua Verde - Photographer: Sommer
Issogne, Italy
90
91
Lucca, Italy 91
Massamar, Italy 92
Milan (Milano), Italy, Cathedral - Photographer: Brogi 93
Milan (Milano), Italy, Galleria - Photographer: Unidentified 93
Monreale, Italy 94
Monza, Italy 94
Naples (Napoli), Italy - Photographer: G. Sommer 95
Orvietto, Italy 95
Palermo, Italy 96
Pavia, Italy 96
Perugia, Italy 97
Pisa, Italy - Photographer: Alinari 98
Pistoia, Italy 99
Prato, Italy 99
Ravello, Italy 100
Ravenna, Italy 100
Rome (S. Giovanni), Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 101
Rome (S. Lorenzo), Italy, Church of S. Balbina - Photographer: Alinari 101
Rome (S. Maria), Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 102
Rome (S. Paolo), Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 102
Rome (S. Peters [Pietro]), Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 103
Rome (Piazzi), Italy - Photographer: Alinari 104
Rome (Villas), Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 104
S. Gimignano, Italy 105
Salerno, Italy 105
Siena, Italy 106
Siena, Italy 107
Sorrento, Italy - Photographer: Garciulo 108
Toscanella, Italy 109
Turin, Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 109
Venice (Venezia [S. Giorgio]), Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 110
Venice (Venezia [S. Marco]), Italy, with Ruins of Campenile - Photographer: Unidentified 111
Venice (Venezia [S. Mariads]), Italy, Church of S. Maria Della Saluti - Photographer: Unidentified 111
Venice (Venezia [Ducal Palace]), Italy - Photographer: Unidentified 113
Venice (Venezia [Palazzi]), Italy, Palazzo Calergi - Photographer: C. Naya 114
Venice (Venezia [City Views]), Italy, Looking Toward Church of San Giorigio from Ducal Palace - Photographer: Unidentified 115
Verona, Italy 117
Verona, Italy 118
Vicenza, Italy 118
Vincigliata, Italy 119
Volterra, Italy 119
Baalbek (Asia [sic]), Roman Empire - Photographer: Bonfils 120
Constantine (Africa [sic], Roman Empire 120
Orange (Europe/France), Roman Empire 121
Palmyra (Asia [sic]), Roman Empire 121
Beneventum (Europe/Italy), Roman Empire 122
Trier (Europe/Germany), Roman Empire 122
Pompei (Europe/Italy [Forum]), Roman Empire - Photographer: Unidentified 123
Pompei (Europe/Italy [Private Homes]), Roman Empire - Photographer: Unidentified 123
Pozzuoli (Europe/Italy), Roman Empire 124
Rome (Europe/Italy [City Views), Roman Empire - Photographer: Unidentified 124
Rome (Europe/Italy [Gates]), Roman Empire - Photographer: Alinari 125
Rome (Europe/Italy [Temples]), Roman Empire, Temple of Saturn - Photographer: Alinari 125
Segona(Europe/Spain), Roman Empire 126
Caernarvon, Wales 127
St. David, Wales 127
Avila, Spain 128
Burgos, Spain 129
Cadiz, Spain 130
Cordova, Spain 130
Granada, Spain 131
Leon, Spain 131
Loyola, Spain 132
Salamanca, Spain 132
Seville, Spain 133
Toledo, Spain 133
Zaragoza, Spain 134
Damascus, Syria [sic] - Photographer: Bonfils 135
Jerusalem, Syria [sic] - Photographer: W. Hammerschmidt 135
Grindelwald, Switzerland (Sturgis World Tour 1898) - Photographer: Unidentified 136
Hallstatt, Austro-Hungarian Empire (Sturgis World Tour 1898) 136
Colony of Gibraltar (Sturgis World Tour 1900) 137
Hamburg, Germany (Sturgis World Tour 1900) 137
Benares, India (Misc. Photographs) 138
Moscow, Russia (Misc. Photographs) 138
Bellini (Painting) 139
Lippi (Painting) 139
Cellini (Sculpture) 140
Mercie (Sculpture) 141
Michelangelo (Sculpture) - Photographer: Unidentified 142
Pisano (Sculpture) 143
Egyptian (Sculpture) - Photographer: Braun Clement 144
Greco-Roman (Sculpture) 145
Roman (Sculpture) 146
Austrian Vineyard Keepers(Misc. Photographs) 149
Bramshill, England 150
Chester, England 151
Hatfield House, England 152
London (Kew Gardens), England 153
London (Ashburnham House), England 154
Norworth Castle, England 155
Wollaton Hall, England 156
Amiens, France 157
Auxerre, France 158
Azay-le-Rideau, France 159
Boos, France 160
Chemaze, France 161
Cluny, France 162
Fountainebleau, France - Photographer: Unidentified 163
Honfleur, France 164
Montesor, France 165
Paris, France (Notre Dame), West Front - Photographer: Unidentified 166
Paris (Exposition of 1898), France 167
Pau, France 168
Preuilly, France 169
S. Gilles, France 170
Toulouse, France 171
Valmont, France 172
Berlin, Germany, Royal Palace, South Side - Photographer: Unidentified 173
Brunswick (Braunschweig or Brunswich), Germany 174
Frankfurt-am-Main, Germany, Rinser Platz Entrance to Market - Photographer: Unidentified 175
Hildesheim, Germany 176
Lemgo, Germany 177
Munich (Munchen), Germany, Large Hall, Kunstlerhaus - Photographer: Unidentified 178
Potsdam, Germany 179
Uberlingen, Germany 180
Hoorn, Holland 181
Rotterdam, Holland 182
Bilanto, Italy 183
Florence, Italy - Photographer: Brogi 184
Florence, Italy - Photographer: Brogi 185
Lucca, Italy 186
Pavia, Italy 187
Ravenna, Italy 188
Venice, Italy, Loggia of Sansorino - Photographer: Unidentified 189
Japan (Unidentified Location) 190
Sunium, Greece 191
Rome (Roman Empire), Italy - Photographer: MacPherson 192
Burgos, Spain 193
Cordova (Cordoba), Spain 194
Jaen, Spain 195
Salamanca, Spain 196
Seville (Sevilla), Spain 197
Toledo, Spain 198
Valencia, Spain 199
Delhi, India 200


Return to Top

This online exhibit "ARCHITECTONIC FIXATIONS: Photographs from the Collection of Russell Sturgis" was created in 2001, and is hosted by University Archives,
Department of Special Collections, Washington University Libraries. Please contact us with any questions.

| University Archives Home | Department of Special Collections Exhibits |

last update: Monday, December 16, 2013    
Page maintained by: University Archives (srooney@wustl.edu)
© 1993-2014 Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri, USA