Washington University Libraries Link to Library homepage
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

Earth Sciences Databases

Return to Ronald Rettner Library

Top Database:
GeoRef (OCLC)
Nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. 1785 to the present (North American); 1933 to the present (entire world). Updated bi-monthly. More info.

Other Databases (arranged alphabetically):
Academic Search Complete
Full-text. Journal index. A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. More info.
ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. 1990 to the present. Updated daily. More info.
Chemical Abstracts - (SciFinder Web) More info.
Compendex
Journal index. Covers all aspects of engineering. Coverage, 1970 to present. More info.
Earthquake Engineering Research Institute
GPO Catalog of United States Government Publications
Listing of publications available from the U.S. Government Printing Office. Covers July 1976-present. Olin Library also has the paper version from 1913 to the present. More info.
INSPEC
Journal index. Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology. More info.
JCRweb (Journal Citation Reports)
Source of citation data to evaluate and compare scholarly journals. More info.
Lunar and Planetary Institute
MEDLINE
More info and other options.
NASA PDS Geosciences Node (W.U.)
NASA Technical Reports Server
National Center for Atmospheric Research
National Space Science Data Center
National Technical Information Service
A web-based version covering 1964-present. More info.
OCEANIC - The Ocean Information Center
Planetary Sciences at the NSSDC
NASA's deep archive and general distribution center for lunar and planetary data and images.
ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)
Covers 1993-present. More info.
SciFinder Web
More info.
Web of Science (1980 - )
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly. More info.
WorldCat (OCLC)
Information about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in other formats owned by thousands of U.S. and foreign libraries. More info.