Washington University Libraries Wash U Libraries Logo
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

Skip navigation

Databases

Database vendors and electronic journal publishers have given Olin license rights to their services. Contracts specify only current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to these restricted resources. View Remote Access for more information on how this impacts your ability to connect.

A    B    C-D    E-F    G-H    I    L-M    N-P    R    S    T-W   


ProQuest Logo
Accounting and Tax
Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers. The quintessential accountant's database. Coverage: varies
Danforth Campus access
Ad$pender
Ad$pender provides a fast, top-level summary of the multi-media advertising marketplace. This web-based tool spans five years of national summary spending trends, accessible by industry, parent company, and brand. Data is available via customizable reports with easy data exporting abilities to popular spreadsheet and flowchart programs.
Business School access only
American Fact Finder
The Census Bureau's online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States.
Danforth Campus access

Business Insights (Gale)
Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world. Featuring the tools you need to interpret a global business landscape: robust data sets visualization tools to help you develop data-driven insights case studies to broaden your perspective on real-life situations.
Danforth Campus access
Business Monitor International
Business Monitor International (BMI) is a leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Our mission is to integrate Country Risk and Financial Markets analysis with Industry Research, to best inform decision-making at the highest level in multinational companies, financial institutions, multilaterals and government.
Business School access only

Business Plans Handbook
Business Plans Handbook is a collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. These are ebooks and are fully searchable.
Danforth Campus access

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Danforth Campus access

Conference Board logo
Conference Board
The Conference Board's database of premier Business and Economic Information and analysis.
Business School access only
Marketline Advantage
Marketline Advantage provides coverage of 30,000 + companies updated annually. It also provides 3500+ industrial profiles updated annually as well as country profiles, country statistics, and financial statistics tracked by Marketline.
Danforth Campus access

DemographicsNow
'DemographicsNow has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.
Danforth Campus access
 width=
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign countries
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries is the authoritative source of information on American firms, which have branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates outside the United States.
To access this database:
At the top of the screen you'll see the menu option "Search Uniworld Online." Click on this and it will take you to the database.
Accessible only while in the Business Library
 width=
Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States is the source for global contact information of Foreign-owned businesses (non-American) with a presense in the United States.
To access this database:
At the top of the screen you'll see the menu option "Search Uniworld Online." Click on this and it will take you to the database.
Accessible only while in the Business Library

FII ONLINE(Directory of Obsolete Securities)

Click Auto sign in and agree to terms.
FII On-Line allows you to point your browser to FII's database and inquire by CUSIP, Issuer / Issue Description, Tickler Date (date of action - e.g. expiration date), Service Type (Called Bonds, Reorganization, Put Options, Warrants, Stock Guide or Bond Guide) Record Type (e.g. Corporate Redemption's, Mergers, etc.) and more.
Danforth Campus access

*Doing Business(World Bank)
The Doing Business database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The Doing Business indicators are comparable across 155 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity and growth.
Danforth Campus access

EconLit with Full Text
EconLit with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 400 journals. It provides indexing and full text for articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Danforth Campus access

Economagic
A comprehensive site of economic time series data. There are more than 100,000 series for which data and custom charts can be retrieved. The majority are for US macroeconomic data, but there is also some foreign economic statistics.
Danforth Campus access

Eurekahedge
Eurekahedge is a major resource for data on thousands of hedge funds. It includes funds across all strategies and asset classes. Eurekahedge is worldwide in scope, BUT our subscription is limited to funds in North America. This resource delivers hedge fund analysis along with accurate hedge fund information on the market, tailored to investors' needs.
Business School access only
Factiva
Factiva
One of the premier resources produced by the publisher of The Wall Street Journal. It provides access to the full text of thousands of popular business and general publications. Also has the full text of all Dow Jones publications including The Wall Street Journal, hundreds of newspapers and also financial information on public companies.
Limited to 6 concurrent users; logoff when done
Danforth Campus access

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Economic Data
This site is maintained by the Federal Reserve of St. Louis. About a thousand U.S. time series are available and downloadable into Excel. Also has a listing of currently available jobs , working papers, speeches made the president of the Federal Reserve and more.
Danforth Campus access
First Research
First Research creates industry reports for people who need to quickly learn about a target industry. Its Industry Profiles cover more than 300 business sectors and highlight industry trends and business issues.
Business School access only
Frost and Sullivan
Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth research coverage of these industries: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Supplies; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control; Information and Communication Technologies; Measurement and Instrumentation.
Business School access only


GlobalEDGE™
Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University MSU-CIBER, GlobalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information on global business activities. GlobalEDGE™ offers:

  • Global Resources - more than 5,000 online resurces
  • Country Insights a wealth of information on all countries
  • Community - an interactive forum for business professionals
  • Knowledge Room - latest issues in international business
  • Academy - extensive research and teaching resources
  • Diagnostic tools - decision-support tools
Danforth Campus access
hoovers
Hoover's Online Business Network
(Click on Company Profiles and Financial)
This site contains in-depth company information including profiles, financials, Officers, products, competitors and much more.
Business School access only

IBIS World
IBIS World provides instant access to over 700 United States industries. There are also many other reports such as the new "Global" Industry Reports covering world industry analysis. In addition to the core Industry Report product, they also publish over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles as well as hundreds of Economic & Demographic Profiles.
Danforth Campus access

International Directory of Company Histories
Provides detailed histories of many of the largest and most influential companies worldwide. These multi volume sets of ebooks are fully searchable.
Danforth Campus access


International Financial Statistics
Approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948. Includes exchange rates, Fund accounts and the main global and country economic indicators.
Danforth Campus access
globalaccess
ISI Emerging Markets
ISI Emerging Markets delivers news, company and financial data direct from emerging markets.
Business School access only

Lexis-Nexis logo
LexisNexis Academic
A full text resource to hundreds of business and general interest magazines and newspapers. Excellent source for company, industry and product information. Also good for general and political news. Legal and medical information can also be obtained. Updated daily.

LexisNexis Statistical
Statistical data tool that lets you trend, rank, and map statistics from hundreds of public domain and licensed datasets. Click on the URL above, then click on the Customize Data link to access DataSets.
Danforth Campus access


Local Market Audience Analyst
Local Market Audience Analyst is the next generation consumer market research tool that delivers sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers.
Danforth Campus access
macroec
Macroeconomic Advisers
A St. Louis based company that provides economic forecasts for the United States. Some international data is available. Larry Myers, former Federal Reserve Governor, is affiliated with this organization.
Danforth Campus access

MarketLine

Datamonitor 360 (Marketline)
For Marketline data please see Datamonitor 360.
Danforth Campus access
Mergent logo
Mergent (FIS Online)
Comprehensive financial information on public companies worldwide. Also contains annual reports and SEC filings. This database also contains private company research through D&B Private Company Database.
Business School access only

Mintel Global Market Navigator
Mintel Global Market Navigator is a comprehensive database designed to give you instant access to critical market data for consumer industries across the world. Global Market Navigator will tell you the market size, segmentation and market share along with 5 years' historical and 5 years' forecast data.
Danforth Campus access

Mintel Reports
Use this resource to find market research reports for a number of industries. The information in the reports is a mix of primary data collected by Mintel together with secondary source information.
Danforth Campus access

Morningstar Direct
Morningstar is known primarily for its coverage of mutual funds but Morningstar Direct provides comprehensive coverage of equities in addition to mutual funds. A username and password is required to access this database and only members of the Washington University community are provided that information. A complete overview of Morningstar Direct can be found here: Morningstar
Contact Ronald Allen or Margie Craig to receive the necessary login information.
THIS DATABASE IS NOT AVAILABLE REMOTELY
Password Access Only

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar® Investment Research Center offers a real-time turnkey solution for investment research. Patrons have access to many popular Premium features of Morningstar.com®, including research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds.
Danforth Campus access


NBER-National Bureau of Economic Research
A cornucopia of links to statistical information from a wide variety of sources prepared by the NBER. Emphasis is on U.S. but some other country data is also available.
Danforth Campus access
ProQuest Logo
New York Times, Historical (1851 - 2003)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Danforth Campus access


Passport GMID
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an award-winning online information resource providing business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information.
Danforth Campus access
Plunkett Plunkett Research
Plunkett Research offers business intelligence, industry trends, statistics, market research, sales leads & corporate profiles in your choice of formats and access plans.
Business School access only
Prequin
Prquin covers private equity, real estate, infrastructure, and hedge funds and is headquartered in London, UK, with additional offices in New York and Singapore. Preqin maintains a number of publications and online databases. It is a source of news[1] and data for the alternative assets industry, and receives numerous mentions in press around the world on a daily basis.
Danforth Campus access

Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Danforth Campus access
Roubini Global Economics
Roubini Global Economics is a leading independent, global economic research and investment strategy consulting firm founded by Nouriel Roubini. Their team of nearly 50 economists, strategists and analysts cover all regions of the globe providing macroeconomic analysis, strategic recommendations, and actionable advice. You will need to register to access this site.
Danforth Campus access

S&P
CAPITAL IQ
S&P Capital IQ
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. This resource is widely used in the business community.
For a complete overview of this database, go here or the address= https://www.capitaliq.com/home/what-we-offer.aspx

To request an account or if you have questions, contact Ron Allen allenron@wustl.edu; 314-935-6739. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2014, faculty, etc).

You must be a currently enrolled student or a faculty or staff member at the university to maintain your Cap IQ account.
Danforth Campus access

Science Direct
Science Direct offers access to over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works. While this database is best known for its collections in Science, Technology and Medicine, there is also strong coverage of journals in Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance.
Danforth Campus access
The SIFMA Fact Book is an annual publication containing comprehensive data on the securities industry, capital markets, market activity, investor participation, global markets, savings and investment, and much more. Danforth Campus access
Sorkins
Sorkins
Company profiles and Business lists including multiple levels of executives and managers from all industries and professions throughout the Chicago, St. Louis, and Kansas City regions.
Business School access only

Sourceoecd
SourceOECD is the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development's online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. For country specific information, use the search box at the top of the page and choose 'Country Reports and Tables' from the dropdown menu. One of the most useful features of this service is the option of clicking on a chart or graph in a PDF file and downloading an Excel table with the background data from which the chart or graph was made.
Danforth Campus access

SBRnet


Sports Business Research Network
SBRnet is a service focusing on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry…sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
Danforth Campus access
Standard and Poor Net Advantage logo
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage includes all of the popular S&P publications. Among them are their Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Mutual Funds and more.
Business School access only

SRDS Core Databases
These databases include Business Media, Consumer Media, Newspaper Media, Digital Media, Out of Home Media, Radio Media and TV & Cable Media. he SRDS database gives you access to everything you need to know to evaluate media brands and connect with the people behind them. The SRDS database gives you access to everything you need to know to evaluate media brands and connect with the people behind them.
Danforth Campus access

Survey of Current Business
A U.S. Department of Commerce monthly publication that provides data on U.S. business on the regional, national, and international levels. Among statistical series covered are personal income, inventories and sales, national income and product accounts, foreign direct investment in the United States, U.S. direct investment abroad, international transactions, and gross state product.
Danforth Campus access
Thomasnet(Thomas Register)
The shelf-swallowing volumes of the Thomas Register of American Manufacturers last appeared in print in 2006. Since then, ThomasNet has been the online home for this valuable directory of industrial products and services. Ostensibly intended to connect buyers of industrial-related products to suppliers, the main features of the ThomasNet site (http://www.thomasnet.com/) are the supplier, product/service, and CAD drawing directories. White papers and industrial product news have also been added.
Danforth Campus access


ThomsonOne
Our subscription includes some, but not all of the features from the ThomsonOne database. Key portions we receive include broker/analyst reports, Deals(public companies), corporate governance information, fundamental comparables and a few others. Please use Internet Explorer with this database.
Danforth Campus access
Value Line logo
Value Line
This includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
Business School access only
ProQuest Logo
Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889 - 1989)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Danforth Campus access

Web of Science
(Science Citation, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities Index)
Web of Science Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references in approximately 5,600 of the world's leading scholarly journals, in more than 150 disciplines from 1988 to present.
Danforth Campus access

World Factbook(CIA)
Compiled by the CIA, this resource provides economic,demographic, political and vital statistics data along with other useful information on virtually all countries in the world. To find a basic country overview, start by clicking the 'References' tab at the top of the page and then "Guide to Countries'. Use the pull-down menu on the upper right side of the page to select your country of interest.
Danforth Campus access
Return to top