Washington University Libraries
Site Search

savetime

Skip navigation
vertical bar


Databases



Women and Gender Studies Databases

Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full text access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, along with fact sheets are easily accessed through CWI. Information on women in over 150 countries is compiled in a single collection bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights. Dates coverered:1992...

GenderWatch
GenderWatch (GW) is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. GW provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, childcare, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders, and social roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime, education, research and scholarship, family, health care, politics, religion, and sports. Contains over 31,000 full text articles from approximately 115 publications and archival material dating as far back as 1978.

Gerritsen Collection
This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others.

GLBT Life
Journal/magazine index. GLBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950
Full-text. Published letters and diaries from women writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials

North American Women's Drama
When complete will bring together more than 1,500 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in colonial times and will span the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.


Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
"This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools." -- from Information about Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition
General Subject Databases

LexisNexis Academic (formerly Academic Universe)
A subset of the Lexis-Nexis service, this database contains full-text news, business, legal, and reference information sources. Newspapers included in the service are updated several times daily, newswires hourly.

ArticleFirst (1900-)
Journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Describes items listed on the table of contents pages of individual issues of nearly 13,000 journals. Dates Covered: 1990 to the present.

Academic Search Primer
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Newspaper Abstracts
Coverage of national and regional newspapers. IncludesWall Street Journal, USA Today, the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Houston Post, and the Los Angeles Times, and others Dates Covered: 1989 to present.

Union List of Periodicals
Holdings information for over 7 million journals in over 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. It can help you determine if a library holds a specific journal issue. Updated semiannually.

Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts. The Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded(TM), Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®.

WorldCat (OCLC)
Bibliographic information for books, journal titles, videos, and other materials cataloged by thousands of U.S. and foreign libraries. Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Dates Covered: 1200 to present.
Link to Women's Studies page