Religious Studies: Databases
Bibliographic sources in Religious Studies
ATLA Religion Database (1949- )
The ATLA Religion Database is the major bibliographic tool for religious studies available at Washington University. It is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Scholarly journals in more than thirty languages representing all the major religious faiths and denominations are included. The ATLA Religion Database also indexes individual essays in multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings. More info
WorldCat (OCLC)
Bibliographic information for books, journal titles, videos, and other materials cataloged by thousands of U.S. and foreign libraries. Does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters. Updated daily. More info
Historical Abstracts (1955- )
Historical Abstracts is an extensive index that covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in this database. It includes entries for books published, but not book reviews. Historical Abstracts is very useful for researching historical aspects of religion, such as church history. More information about Historical Abstracts from their website. More info
Web of Science (1988- )
Don't let the name mislead you. The Web of Science includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index from 1988 to the present. More info
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (OCLC) (1980- )
Use this for coverage from 1980-1987. For 1988 to the present, use Web of Science. More info
Academic Search Premier
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. More info
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
"Iter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases."
[Return to top Religious Studies page]
[Return to Resources by Subject]

