Washington University Libraries
Site Search

savetime

Skip navigation
vertical bar

Philosophy-Neuroscience-Psychology: Databases


Return to Philosophy-Neuroscience-Psychology Subject Page

Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.

  • Philosopher's Index (1940 - )
    Journal index. Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Updated quarterly. More info
  • PsycINFO (1887 - )
    Covers psychology and related fields from 1887 to the present. Sources include more than 1,800 journals along with a number of books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports. Updated monthly. Washington University students, faculty and staff may forward article requests directly from this database to Interlibrary Loan.
  • PsycARTICLES (varies)
    Contains full-text articles from APA and other journals (Coverage list), mostly from volume 1 of each journal. PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES work together, thus giving immediate full-text access in PsycINFO searches. If you are doing any intensive research, it is suggested that you use PsycINFO instead as there are more limits and search options available. Updated weekly.
  • Medline (1965 - )
    Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Covering more than 3,500 journals published internationally. Updated monthly. Washington University students, faculty and staff may forward article requests directly from this database to Interlibrary Loan.
  • PubMed (1950 - )
    Includes Medline and PreMedline. Covering more than 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Updated monthly.
  • Web of Science (1988 - )
    This database includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text (1895 - )
    Journal index, some full text. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Replaces Sociological Abstracts. More info
  • Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
    Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (1973 - )
    'The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.' (from LLBA FactSheet) More info
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) (1861 - )
    The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly. You might also want to look at Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University. More info

    NOTE: You cannot request full-text of dissertations or theses via ILLiad from within Dissertations & Theses; you can only order them using your own credit card. To request via ILLiad, log in to ILLiad, click on Request a Thesis, and fill out the form.