Linguistics: Databases
Return to Linguistics Main Page
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (1973 - )
'The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.' (from LLBA FactSheet) More info -
Academic Search Premier (1984- )
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. More info -
MLA Bibliography (OCLC) (1964- )
Journal index. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Updated ten times per year. More info -
SocINDEX with Full Text (1895 - )
Journal index, some full text. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Replaces Sociological Abstracts. More info -
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) (1920- )
Part of the Literature Online database, ABELL (the MHRA's Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) contains 860,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. -
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, via Web of Science (1988- )
Covers more than 1,140 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals in a broad range of disciplines, including linguistics. Updated weekly. More info -
PsycINFO (1887- )
Journal index. Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Updated monthly. More info -
PubMed (1950- )
Includes Medline and PreMedline. Covering more than 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Updated monthly. More info and other options -
ERIC (OCLC) (1966- )
Journal index. Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Updated monthly. More info -
Education Full Text (1983- )
Journal index. Full-text. Indexes more than 400 English-language periodicals and books, and includes full-text articles from 204 of those titles. Updated monthly. More info -
Philosopher's
Index (1940 - )
Journal index. Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Updated quarterly. More info -
SocINDEX with Full Text (1895 - )
Journal index, some full text. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Replaces Sociological Abstracts. More info -
Anthropology Plus (OCLC)
Brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Provides indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. -
HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) (1935- )
Abstracts and complete bibliographic information for published materials about Latin America on topics in the social sciences and humanities. Available in English or Spanish. More info -
L'Année Philologique (1959- )
Online version of L'Année Philologique, the annual index of scholarly publications relating to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome (500 BCE to 800 CE). More info -
ARTFL
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) contains over 2000 texts from the 12th through the 19th centuries. More info -
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) (1861- )
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly. You might also want to look at Current Research @ Washington University in St. Louis. More info
NOTE: You cannot request full-text of dissertations or theses via ILLiad from within the database; you can only order them using your own credit card. To request via ILLiad, log in to ILLiad, click on Request a Thesis, and fill out the form. - WorldCat
Bibliographic information for books, journal titles, videos, and other materials cataloged by thousands of U.S. and foreign libraries. More info

