Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Save Time! Ask Us

Skip navigation
vertical bar

Return to Islamic Studies main page

Islamic Studies: Databases


Main databases

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
A full-text source that "...brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture..." 3 concurrent users; please logoff when finished.

Index Islamicus
Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.' (from database help page)

JSTOR
Full-text. Journal index. JSTOR consists of the complete back runs of about 90 journal titles, from whenever each title began publication to a point 3 or 5 years ago. More info

Academic Search Premier
Full-text. Journal index. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. More info

Arts & Humanities Citation Index, via Web of Science (1988- )
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Updated weekly.
Print version for 1976-1985 in Olin Level 1 Reference: AI3 A63

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (OCLC) (1980- )
Same database as above, via FirstSearch. Please use this version ONLY if you require data from 1980-1987. Updated weekly.

Project MUSE
Full-text, journal index. About 100 scholarly journals, most recent 3-5 years. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together. More info

WorldCat (OCLC)
Information about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. DOES NOT INCLUDE JOURNAL ARTICLES.

Other databases and catalogs

MLA Bibliography (1926 - )
Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Updated ten times per year. Washington University students, faculty and staff may forward article requests directly from this database to Interlibrary Loan. More info

Biography Index
Some full-text. Index to autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Backfiles available in print 1946/1949-1984, level B: Z5301 B5.

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)
complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations and theses accepted at accredited institutions. Viewable 24-page previews of many disserations and theses. To request a thesis, logon on to ILLiad and fill out form.

RAND Voices of Jihad Database
'This online database is a compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation, and has been collected from publicly-accessible websites. Original links are provided, along with excerpts and full-text content when available.' (from database homepage)

ATLA Religion (1949 - )
Journal, essay, and book review index. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. More info

GenderWatch (1974 - )
Full-text. Journal index. A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Over 31,000 full text articles from approximately 115 publications and archival material dating as far back as 1974. Updated quarterly. More info

Contemporary Women's Issues (1992 - ) (8 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Journal index. Provides access to global information on women from journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Updated 26 times/year. More info

Ethnic NewsWatch (1990 - )
Full-text. Journal index. A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, covering many subject areas ranging from the more focused ethnic area studies to the arts, business, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, and sociology. More info

United Nations (via AccessUN) (1991 - )
Provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. More info

United Nations, Official Documents (1993 - )
Full-text. Official UN documentation; older material is being added. More info

Book Reviews

H-Net Reviews
An online searchable database of scholarly reviews for works in the Humanities and Social Sciences.