Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

Skip navigation

Bibliographic sources in History


Historical Abstracts (1955- )
Historical Abstracts is an extensive index that covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).  Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in this database.  It includes entries for books published, but not book reviews.  More info

Academic Search Premier
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. More info

Web of Science (1988- )
Don't let the name mislead you.  The Web of Science includes the Arts and Humanities Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index from 1980 to the present.  More info

WorldCat (OCLC)
Bibliographic information for books, journal titles, videos, and other materials cataloged by thousands of U.S. and foreign libraries.  Does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.  Updated daily.  More info

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
"Iter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases."

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975- ) (5 concurrent users allowed)
"The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine file describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.  The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine."  More info

British Society for the History of Science Journals Index
This searchable index is based on the journal article listings posted at regular intervals to the mailing list "mersenne" since 1993.

Important periodical indexes for historical research


Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature (1911- )

International Bibliography of Historical Sciences (1926- )

Writings on American History (1902-90)

Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History (1975- )

Writings on British History (1901-75)

[Return to top History (World) page]
[Return to Resources by Subject]