Earth Sciences Databases
Return to Ronald Rettner Library
Top Two Databases:- GeoRef (OCLC)
- Nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. 1785 to the present (North American); 1933 to the present (entire world). Updated bi-monthly. More info.
- GEOBASE (OCLC)
- Covers 1980-present. More info.
Other Databases with Earth Science Information (arranged alphabetically):
- ArticleFirst (OCLC)
- Nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. 1990 to the present. Updated daily. More info.
- Chemical Abstracts - (SciFinder 1967-present) More info.
- Compendex*web
- Engineering Index, Web version. NOTE: This may be used with a graphical browser or a PPP or SLIP connection, but will not work with a Lynx-based browser. Coverage, 1970 to present. More info.
- Earthquake Engineering Research Institute
- Expanded Academic Index (1980- )
- Covering all subjects, this database indexes and abstracts 1,800+ journals and general interest magazines, and includes the full text (including images) of 850+ journals and magazines. More info.
- INSPEC
- Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology. January 1968 to the present. More info.
- JCR Web(Journal Citation Reports)
- Source of citation data to evaluate and compare scholarly journals. More info.
- Lunar and Planetary Geology
- MEDLINE
- More info and other options.
- Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications
- Listing of publications available from the U.S. Government Printing Office. Covers July 1976-present. Olin Library also has the paper version from 1913 to the present. More info.
- National Space Science Data Center
- National Technical Information Service
- A web-based version covering 1990-present. More info.
- NASA technical reports server
- National Center for Atmospheric Research
- National Technical Information Service (STN-NTIS)
- Covers 1964-present
- OCEANIC - The Ocean Information Center
- Planetary Data System Geosciences Node (W.U.)
- Planetary Sciences at the NSSDC
- NASA's deep archive and general distribution center for lunar and planetary data and images.
- ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)
- Covers 1993-present. More info.
- Science Citation Index (STN-SCISEARCH) (1974-present)
- A multidisciplinary scientific and technical database containing bibliographic information and cited references from world's leading scientific, technical, and medical journals. Please use Web of Science (below) first.
- SciFinder Scholar
- More info.
- Web of Science (1988 - )
- Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly. After each session, please LOGOFF. More info.
- WorldCat (OCLC)
- Information about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. Does not include journal articles. More info.

