Washington University Libraries
Site Search

savetime

Skip navigation
vertical bar

Economics Related Databases


Return to Economics Subject Page

Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.

  • ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts(CSA)
    ASSIA on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly.
  • Business and Company Resource Center (InfoTrac©) (1980 - )
    Full-text. Journal index. Articles on various aspects of business.
  • Business and Industry (1994 - )
    Contains important facts, figures and key events dealing with public and private companies, industries, products and markets for all manufacturing and service industries at an international level.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, and more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications, dating as far back as 1922.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
    Extensive collections of international think tank working paper texts, international conference proceedings, journal abstracts, book summaries, schedules of events, policy brief texts, economic statistics, and useful links.
  • Demographics Now
    Provides basic demographics data including consumer expenditures, population, income, race, housing, employment, by various geographic breakdowns. You can search by block group, census tract, zip code, county, state or entire U.S. Reports can be structured to compare and rank up to 16 geographies, with maps covering population, income and housing.
  • Dissertation Abstracts Online (1861 - ) (OCLC)
    The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly.
  • EconLit Full Text (1969 - )
    Historically, EconLit has icluded index and citation data only. Now, Full Text coverage is offered through the EBSCOhost interface. Six types of records are included: journal articles, articles from collective volumes, working economic papers from the RePec database, dissertations, book abstracts, and book reviews.Full Text is offered for over 400 of the 750 leading economic journals indexed in EconLit
  • FRASER- Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
    Produced by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. "Links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents".
  • FRED® II- Federal Reserve Economic Data
    "...a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series".
  • General BusinessFile (InfoTrac©)(1980 - )
    Full-text. Journal index. Updated monthly; includes over 450 journals full-text.
  • The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
    HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage spanning more than thirty years, from 1970 to the present.
  • ICPSR: the Inter-University Consortium for Social and Political Research
    Access to very large computer data files in the social sciences, including election results, polls, surveys, and census.
  • MathSciNet (1940 - )
    Journal index. Includes Mathematical Reviews, including review texts (abstracts), from 1940 to the present.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
    Covers geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); agriculture; production systems, business history, and technology; demography; institutions, governments, and markets; macroeconomic history and international economics; money, banking and finance; labor; natural resources and the environment; and biographies.
  • PAIS International (1972 - )
    Journal index. Indexes and abstracts books, periodical articles, and government publications in the fields of public affairs and public policy. Provides social and economic analyses of international, national, and local policies.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - )
    Indexes more than 400 periodicals covering sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Updated monthly. Check first to see if articles are available in full text through one of our other databases by searching Wash U's Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings . Otherwise, Washington University students, faculty and staff may forward article requests directly from this database to Interlibrary Loan.
  • SourceOECD
    SourceOECD is the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development's online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. For Country specific information, use the Search box at the top of the page and choose 'Country Reports and Tables' from the dropdown menu. One of the most useful features of this service is the option of clicking on a chart or graph in a PDF file and downloading an Excel table with the background data from which the chart or graph was made.
  • STAT-USA
    'STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government.'
  • Web of Science (1988 -)
    This database includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - )
    Journal Index. Covers political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.