Databases for Research in Art, Art History & Architecture
- Find It! Search Multiple Databases FAQs
- Art & Architecture Journal Indexes
- Art & Architecture Dictionaries
- Digital Image Collections - LUNA & ARTstor
- Library Consortia Catalogs
- Primary Source Materials
- Sources for Critical Theory
- Off-campus Access (Proxy)
- Alternative Proxy
Art & Architecture Journal Indexes
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Covers 459 art periodicals, with full-text coverage of 120 journals beginning in 1997. Indexes articles and art reproductions from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Updated monthly.
Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Includes citations to journal articles and art reproductions on all aspects of art, covering 607 noted foreign-language and English language publications world-wide.
Modern (1974 - present)
Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Indexes 3,762 sources, including abstracts of journal articles, information on book reviews, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1860s - present)
Expanded coverage includes articles back to the 1930s, with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s. Updated daily, this RLG Citation Resources file is the single most important bibliographical research tool available worldwide for research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history. The Avery Index surveys 2,863 US and foreign journals. Avery covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including the publications of professional associations; US, state, and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
BHA - Bibliography of the History of Art (1973 - present)
Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, this database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,819 periodicals.
DAAI - Design & Applied Arts Index (1973 - present)
DAAI contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Each reference includes full bibliographic details and a brief abstract. Major areas of coverage include: industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, fashion and textile design, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design and packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design history and theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, and design management. <
Index Islamicus (1906 - present)
Index Islamicus database indexes over 3,000 journals, along with conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Subjects covered include the archaeology, architecture, art history, history of the book, languages and religion of the Islamic world.
International Medieval Bibliography (1967 - present)
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from the period 400-1500. The database comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues).
Note: This source is licensed for three concurrent users ~ please logout when finished.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (1859 - present)
Iter indexes over 1,555 journal titles and selected essays from 3,701 scholarly collections related to inter-disciplinary subjects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1988 - present)
Access this multidisciplinary database via the Web of Knowledge interface- choose Web of Science/Arts & Humanities Citation Index to get to the initial search screen. AHCI indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Academic Search Complete (1975- present)
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Art & Architecture Dictionaries
Oxford Art Online An authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth, signed full-text articles on the history of art written by noted scholars in their respective field of expertise. This online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art provides external image links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world. Within each entry, explore Illustrations and Image Links on the menu bar for related images.
Note: This source is licensed for eight consecutive users ~ please logout when finished.
New Feature: Articles may include images within the text, an example of which is the entry on Antoni Gaudi's mature work, illustrating Casa Mila, la pedrera.
(Clicking on the thumbnail or green hypertext link will open a larger image.)
Oxford Reference Online - Art & Architecture Dictionaries
The Premium Collection brings together over 100 key Oxford subject dictionaries and reference works - containing over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource. Also available, Oxford Reference Online's 20th century Art & Architecture Timeline
Note: This source is licensed for five consecutive users ~ please logout when finished.
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium With more than 5,000 entries, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries range from patriarchy and emperors to entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture The most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the over four thousand year Classical period with more than 1,000 entries on art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, works of art, archaeological sites, and stylistic developments.
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Contains more than 3,000 articles covering the decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles are defined, and the history of decorative arts such as armor, textiles, ceramics, and jewelry are discussed.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Covers subjects including the art, architecture, religions and cultures of medieval Europe from the fifth to the fifteenth century. While focusing on Europe and the Christian world, the Encyclopedia also contains information relating to the rise of Islam and non-western cultures that came into contact with Europeans during this period.
Digital Image Collections
Using LUNA & ARTstor in Teaching and Learning
Visual Collections via Luna Insight -
Visual Collections is a digital image portal with open access to dozens of collections from museums, universities, and private collections in the following categories:
Cartography, Fine Arts, Architecture, Photography, Institutionally Unique Digital Projects
All 40 Luna Collections
AMICA contains over 102,000 works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Image Citation Guidelines
Use the AMICA Browser version for off campus access.
Reminder: If your computer is set to block pop-ups, hold down the Control key and follow screen instructions.
Tip: Sometimes it takes two attempts to open the browser version.
Contact the art library if there are any problems. A librarian will be happy to guide you through the process.
Rumsey Map Collection contains over 8,800 maps and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, Africa & Oceania are also represented. Rumsey Browser version
Request a Faculty account
Note: Setting up a faculty account provides off-campus java access to AMICA and the WU Visual Resources Collection
Searching tip: truncate words by using the asterisk(*).
Example: photo* = photograph, photography, photogravure
WU Luna Insight Tutorial and Luna Insight Feature Tour
How to Download & Print LUNA Images
Usage Notes: ARTstor does not work equally well with all platform/browser combinations. There have been problems for mac users running Safari and using Firefox and Netscape. IE and Mozilla have been working consistently for mac and pc users.
All Library computers have pop-up blocking software loaded on them. Holding down Ctrl + click will override this software.
To Enter ARTstor, select Search and Browse for Images LAUNCH > located on the right side of the screen.
The ARTstor Charter Collection currently contains approximately 500,000 images; it documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Collections include: the Image Gallery, Art History Survey Collection, Carnegie Arts of the U.S. Collection, Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, Huntington Archive of Asian Art, Illustrated Bartsch, Mellon International Dunhuang Archive, Museum of Modern Art, Architecture and Design Collection, Native American Art and Culture, National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution, and the Schlesinger History of Women in America collection
AP Images is an electronic library containing the Associated Press' current year's photo report and a selection of images dating from the 1840s. The Archive is international in scope and contains over 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995 with new images added daily. There is also a separate database containing graphics, maps, illustrations and logos prepared by AP graphic artists. They can be downloaded and opened as PDF files. The graphics database dates from January 1999 to present. Licensed for 5 concurrent users.
See Search Art Image Links in Oxford Art Online
Princeton Index of Christian Art The ICA records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 with a particular emphasis on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass.
Library Consortia Catalogs
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
St. Louis Research Libraries Consortium (SLRLC) includes the libraries of the Missouri Botanical Garden, the Missouri Historical Society, and the St. Louis Art Museum.
WorldCat (OCLC) Information about books, journals, videos, and other materials owned by more than 25,000 U.S. and foreign libraries.
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)
Coverage: 1861 ... (Indexing); 1980 ... (Abstracts of Dissertations); 1988 ... (Abstracts of Theses).
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions. Note that you can view 24-page previews of many disserations and theses.
Dissertations and Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis
WU dissertations and theses from 1996-present.
Primary Source Materials
American Periodicals Series Online (1740 - 1900)
Journal index plus full-text. Page images of more than 1,100 periodicals. APS Online now includes over twenty journals whose coverage dates to 1940.
HarpWeek (1857 - 1912)
1857 - 1865: The Civil War Era
1866 - 1871: Reconstruction I
1872 - 1877: Reconstruction II
1878 - 1883: Gilded Age I
1884 - 1889: Gilded Age II
1890 - 1895: Gilded Age III
1896 - 1901: Gilded Age IV
1902 - 1907: Gilded Age V
1908 - 1912: Gilded Age VI
Harpweek includes the complete text of Harper's Weekly, full-page images, illustrations, and maps. Indexing is by subject, illustration, literature & publishing, advertising, occupation, and literary genre. Coverage spans the Civil War Era and the Reconstruction through the Gilded Age. Searchable by a select era or in its entirety.
The Historical New York Times (1851 - 2003)
Deep backfile for The New York Times. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-1985)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage ends in 1985, selected full text of this newspaper is available in LexisNexis Academic from 2002-present.
Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1800) & Series II (1801-1819) and Early American Newspapers (1690-1876)
Full text collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and newspapers from the early decades of the United States documenting all apects of society and culture.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full text searching and page views of every significant book, broadside, Bible, tract book, sermon, and printed ephemera printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800.
Eighteenth Century Journals II (1699-1812)
Digitized rare journals providing a broad representation of eighteenth century print culture.
Empire Online (1492-1962)
Images of original documents from libraries and archives around the world relating to Empire Studies, including many materials from the British Library.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (1100-1800)
Full text primary source documents related to the study of medieval and early modern England, Ireland, and Scotland from the 11th to the 18th centuries. Documents are searchable and include personal and state papers relating to the region's government, history, exploration, and colonial involvements.
Sources for Critical Theory
JSTOR (most recent 3-5 years of each journal)
Full-text journal articles consisting of the complete back runs of about 120 journal titles.
More about JSTOR
MLA Bibliography (1926 -present )
Literature, languages, linguistics,and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. More aboout MLA
Project MUSE (most recent 3-5 years of each journal)
Full-text journal articles from over 200 scholarly journals. The database can be searched by individual journal title, selected groupings of sources, or as a whole. More about Project MUSE
( current WU students, faculty & staff only )