|
Skip navigation
|
|
Databases
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Parts 1-8)
When complete, will contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
- African American Studies Center (1 concurrent user allowed)
Full-text. Provides more than 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field, and includes the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, and additional reference works.
- America: History and
Life (1964-)
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from
prehistory to the present, from over 2,000 journals published
worldwide.
-
Article First
Journals in science, technology, medicine, social science,
businesses, the humanities, and popular culture. Describes items
listed on the table of contents pages of individual issues of
nearly 13,000 journals.
-
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849 - 1985)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Dissertation Abstracts Online
Access via FirstSearch has been replaced by access to the ProQuest version of this database, below. The citations are the same - but you also get 24-page previews for many dissertations and theses in the ProQuest version.
-
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly. You might also want to look at Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis, below.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis (1996 - )
Full-text. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Washington University and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. You can view 24 page previews of dissertations and theses published after 1996, and download the full text (free from WUStL campus IP addresses).">
- Early American Imprints,
Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
(also known as Evans Digital Edition)
Full-text. Contains all content from original collection through 1800 plus newly digitized content through #50,045, published in 1800.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
Full-text. 'Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.'
- Early American Newspapers, 1639-1876.
Full-text. The publisher started from Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.
- HarpWeek: The Civil War Era, Reconstruction, and the Guilded Age.
'The 56 years of Harper's Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912.' (from Background: Harper's Weekly)
- History
of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975 - )
(5 concurrent users allowed)
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
- Lexis Nexis
Academic
A subset of the Lexis-Nexis service, this
database contains full-text news, business, legal, and reference
information sources. Newspapers included in the service are
updated several times daily, newswires hourly.
-
Newspaper Abstracts
Coverage of over 25 national and regional newspapers, including
the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Updated weekly
- New York Times, Historical (1851 - 2003)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
-
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Full-text. Contains 319 plays by 53 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889 - 1989)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Web of
Science
The Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index
Expanded(TM), Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts &
Humanities Citation Index®. Sources Journal citations and
abstracts; cited reference searching. Dates Covered 1988 to
present for Source Items; publication dates of Cites Items go
back further, depending on author's choices.
- Women and Social Movements
in the United States, 1600-2000
"This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and
scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the
history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000,
the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the
same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to
teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools."
-- from Information
about Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition
-
WorldCat (OCLC)
Information about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in
other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign
libraries. DOES NOT INCLUDE JOURNAL ARTICLES.
|
| Link to American History
page |
|