Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Save Time! Ask Us

Skip navigation
vertical bar

Databases for African and African-American Studies



Return to the African and African-American Studies Main Page

ArticleFirst (OCLC FirstSearch)
Nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. 1990 to the present. Updated daily.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Indexes citations from articles in arts and humanities periodicals, 1980-present. This data base is also available through OCLC FirstSearch.

America: History and Life (1964-)
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.>

Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor contains extensive coverage of Africa and the Caribbean. Articles from the current edition of the Monitor can be viewed in this database. Full text of past issues, back to 1980, are available in the Academic Universe database. The past six weeks of the Monitor are available in paper in Olin Library's Level 1 Current Periodicals area. A microfilm edition of the Monitor is available back to 1963 in the Olin Level A Microforms area. A printed index to the microfilm is available in the Level 2 Reference Collection. Please ask at the Level 1 Help Desk for assistance in using any of these resources.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1990 - )
Full-text. Journal index. A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, covering many subject areas ranging from the more focused ethnic area studies to the arts, business, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, and sociology.

Historical Abstacts (1955 - )
Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database is contains annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square, over half a million entries.

JSTOR
Full-text, scholarly articles from African American Studies journals such as African American Review, Callaloo, Journal of Black Studies, Journal of Blacks in Higher Education, Journal of Negro Education, Journal of Negro History, and Transition.

Lexis-Nexis Universe
A subset of the Lexis-Nexis service, this database contains full-text news, business, legal, a nd reference information sources. Newspapers included in the service are updated several times daily, newswires hourly.

New York Times
The New York Times contains extensive coverage of Africa and the Caribbean. Some articles from the current edition of the newspaper can be viewed in this database. Full text articles are available from June 1, 1980 through the present in the Lexis-Nexis database. Lexis-Nexis provides abstracts of New York Times articles for the period 1969 - 1979. The past six weeks of the New York Times are available in paper in Olin Library's Level 1 Current Periodicals section. A microfilm edition of the New York Times is available back to 1857 in Olin Level A Microforms area. The printed index for the New York Times is available in the Level 1 Olin Reference Collection. Please ask at the Level 1 Help Desk for assistance in locating and using any of these resources.

Yale University Library's "African Newspapers Online" List of Sources
A collection of African news resources available on the Internt, maintained by the Yale University Library.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Information about books, journal titles, scores, sound recordings, videos, and materials in other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. Use the LIMIT option to search for sound recordings and scores. DOES NOT INCLUDE JOURNAL ARTICLES.