Articles & Indexes
Databases: X, Y, Z
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
'The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions.' (from database homepage)
- Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books, New York Public Library
'A phenomenon for the most part of the late 1950s, the 1960s, and the early 1970s, the yizkor books evoked by the Holocaust were edited, privately printed, and distributed (often free of charge) by committees of survivors of many hundreds of the former Jewish population centers of eastern Europe, and generally they culminate in lists of community members who did not survive the war.' (from About Holocaust Memorial Books)
- Yomidas Rekishikan (3 concurrent users allowed)
Includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu
Complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to major and local periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, from 1868 to present. More info