Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889 - 1994)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More info
- The Washington Post (1877-1993)
- WBIS Online
Also called World Biographical Information System Online. 'WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing short biographical information on 5.49 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present.' (from database homepage) Note that the WU Libraries subscribe only to the index, not to the full-text articles.
- Web of Knowledge
Journal index. Allows CrossSearch of Web of Science, INSPEC and several external collections. Updated weekly. More info
- Web of Science (1970 - )
Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Access includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1970-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). More info
- WebCSD (Cambridge Structural Database)
Contains crystal structure information for over 220,000 organic and metal organic compounds. More info
- Western Waters Digital Library
Provides free public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States. It is a valuable resource for researchers, policy makers, scholars, Native American tribes, professionals working in various fields, and others interested in contemporary and historic water issues.
- Who’s Who on the Web (Marquis) (1
concurrent user allowed)
Full-text. Comprehensive profiles on over 1.3 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. More info
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Full-text. "Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding." More info
Wordnik shows definitions from multiple sources, so you can see as many different takes on a word's meaning as possible. Word relationships include synonyms, hypernyms, hyponyms, words used in the same context, a reverse dictionary, and tags.
Wordnik definitions and synonyms/antonyms come from multiple sources, including WordNet 3.0, The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language 4th ed., Roget's II The New Thesaurus 3rd ed., The Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia, and Wiktionary. Wordnik includes audio pronunciations from the The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language 4th ed. and the Macmillan Dictionary Online English Dictionary and Thesaurus.
- World Almanacs (FirstSearch) or via WorldCat.org
Includes the contents of: the World Almanac and Book of Facts, the World Almanac of the U.S.A., the World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and the World Almanac for Kids. More info
- World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
Data. 'The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades,...' (from database homepage)
- World Bank Open Data
Data. The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog, which provides download access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.
- World Biographical Information System Online
Also called WBIS Online. 'WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing short biographical information on 5.49 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present.' (from database homepage) Note that the WU Libraries subscribe only to the index, not to the full-text articles.
- World Databank
Data. Contains World Development Indicators & Global Development Finance (below); Gender Statistics; Education Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Africa Development Indicators; Global Economic Monitor; and Millenium Development Goals. See the Data Catalog for even more resources.
- World Development Indicators & Global Development Finance
Data. 'World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).' (from description on site)
- World of Learning has ceased, due to budget cuts. Contact your subject librarian for suggestions about similar databases.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) or via WorldCat.org
Bibliographic information for books, journal titles, videos, and other materials cataloged by thousands of U.S. and foreign libraries. More info
- Worldscope is no longer available on OCLC FirstSearch. Please contact your subject librarian for suggestions about similar databases.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - )
Journal Index. Covers political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. More info