Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
Directory. Provides bibliographic information on over 300,000 serials (journals and magazines), including almost 55,000 ceased titles. More info
Free. '...official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.' (from Frequently asked questions on the website)
- UNECE Statistical Database
Free. Comparable data for Europe, North America, and Central Asia, from the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. Includes country overviews, and economic, forestry, gender, and transport statistics.
- United Nations, Official Documents (1993 - )
Full-text. Official UN documentation; older material is being added. More info
- Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies
Access to more than 300 case studies of commercial and residential development projects from 1985 to the present, including 20 new reports added each year. If asked for a password, see the listing on this page (accessible only from on-campus, or via the proxy server from off-campus).
- Urban Studies Abstracts subscription has ceased, due to budget cuts. Please contact your subject librarian for suggestions of other databases for your topic.
- US Code
A consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws [public laws] of the United States. This database is also searchable through GPO Access.
- U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958
The program of technical cooperation in Iraq, prior to the Revolution of 1958, was frequently cited as an example of the ideal Point Four program. Under this ideal, the U.S. helped newly-developed nations acquire technical "know-how" needed to promote the combined growth of economic improvement and political freedom. This collection, containing over 50,000 images, provides the documentation necessary to assess the program's effectiveness. In addition, this collection will provide the user with the necessary examples of how effective the current U.S. program may be in present-day Iraq.
- U. S. Patent and Trademark Office Full-Text Database (1790 - )
Searchable full text of U.S. patents. Updated weekly. More info
- USA Counties
'USA Counties features over 6,300 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 2010 population as well as many other items from the 2010 Census of Population and Housing , the 1990 census, the 1980 census and the 2007, 2002, 1997, and 1992 economic censuses. Information in USA Counties is derived from the following general topics: Accommodation and Food Services, Age, Agriculture, Ancestry, Banking, Building Permits, County Business Patterns, Civilian Labor Force, Crime, Earnings, Education, Elections, Employment, Government, Health, Hispanic or Latino, Households, Housing, Income, Manufactures, Nonemployer Statistics, Population, Poverty, Race and Hispanic Origin, Retail Trade, Social Programs, Survey of Business Owners, Taxes, Veterans, Vital Statistics, Water Use, and Wholesale Trade.' (from database homepage)
- Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bucher (VlB)
German Books in Print. Interface is in German.
- Vetus Latina Database (VLD) (3 users)
The huge panoply of Latin biblical texts which were in existence and use from the second century AD/CE until the time when the Vulgate became predominant are known under the common rubric of the Vetus Latina, or the Old Latin, Bible. The term Vetus Latina refers to all those biblical texts translated into Latin which are not found in the Vulgate. This database contains every citation, listed by book, chapter and verse of the Bible. The citations (over 300,000) can be searched individually or as a whole, following the biblical structure. The result of a search is an image of the card file available in the Vetus Latina Institute.
- Victorian Popular Culture
The Victorian Popular Culture portal is an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. It is comprised of four separate sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic, Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks, Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment, and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.
Source libraries for the material include the Harry Price Library of Magical Literature, the Malcolm Morley Theatre Library at Senate House, University of London, the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, Austin, Texas, the National Fairground Archive, University of Sheffield, Chetham’s Library, Manchester, the Vauxhall Gardens Collection, Lambeth Archives, the May Moore Duprez Archive, the National Archives (UK), and the Bill Douglas Centre for the History of Cinema and Popular Culture, University of Exeter. Another key feature is original archive footage from the British Film Institute (BFI).
Victorian Popular Culture contains a wide range of source material, mostly digitised in colour, dating from the 18th century to the 1930s. There is an emphasis on visual sources and rare printed material that relates to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe. Document types include: rare books, periodicals, playbills and handbills, songbooks, games and toys, posters, prints, scrapbooks, photographs, programmes, ephemera such as ticket stubs, postcards, newspaper cuttings, and a number of secondary sources such as interactive chronologies, biographies of key artists and notable figures, a glossary, a bibliography, contextual essays, and links to external web sources to promote further research.
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 (History Vault)
Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Traces the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam. Collections also highlight all of the most important foreign policy issues facing the United States between 1960 and 1975.
Virginia Company Archives
This collection documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It then shows the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas. The source is the Ferrar Papers, 1590-1790, from Magdalene College Cambridge. The project is made up of four constituent parts: previously unpublished transcripts by Dr David Ransome of documents from the Virginia Company Archives, a fully searchable text of The Records of the Virginia Company of London, the complete Ferrar Papers from Magdelene College, Cambridge, an extensive contextual introduction to the Ferrar papers, and a wide range of maps, illustrations and other works.
- Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.