Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Race Relations Abstracts subscription has ceased, due to budget cuts. Please contact your subject librarian for suggestions of other databases for your topic.
- RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies (1966 - 2001)
Ami is an excellent multi-language bibliography of articles in Jewish studies and the study of Israel. The records are citations (not abstracts or the full-text) of journal articles across all disciplines that have been cataloged by Hebrew University in Jerusalem. To obtain articles perform a journal title search in Full Text Journal Holdings and/or the WU Catalog. If the journal is not part of the holdings of WU or a title we have electronic access to, you will need to request the article via interlibrary loan by first establishing an ILL account on ILLIAD.
- RAND Documents
Index to RAND documents and reports dating back to 1948, covering social and economic policy issues in the U.S. and overseas, international policy, and national security. Many are available full-text in PDF format for free.
- RAND Voices of Jihad Database
'This online database is a compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation, and has been collected from publicly-accessible websites. Original links are provided, along with excerpts and full-text content when available.' (from database homepage)
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890 - 1982) (4 concurrent users allowed)
Article index. 'The most detailed account of U.S. culture and history you’ll find anywhere.' Covers 'Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel.' (from database description on the site) Use Academic Search Complete for coverage of the same topics since 1982.
For students in Organic Chemistry. Reaxys provides reaction and substance data searching along with synthesis planning. It is an intuitive web-application with powerful and flexible search capabilities, including searching by reaction, substance, and/or numeric property data. Reaxys integrates all chemical information from the former Beilstein and Gmelin databases. For more information see this Reaxys Overview or the Reaxys Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
- Regional Business News
'This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.' (from database description on the site)
- Religion Database (ATLA) (1949 - )
Journal, essay, and book review index. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. More info
- RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
'RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 70 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. All RePEc material is freely available.' (from database homepage)
- Responsa Project (10 concurrent users allowed)
Full text. The Responsa Project contains the world's largest electronic collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew. The database includes: rabbinic case-law rulings; the Bible and the Talmud with their principal commentaries; the major codes of Jewish law, i.e., Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and other significant primary texts of Jewish law and life; and the Talmudic Encyclopedia, which includes and explains more than 1500 values regarding Halachic laws and terms, Jewish customs and more. More info
Revue d’Histoire Ecclesiastique Bibliographie (RHE) (3 users)
The RHE bibliography covers the literature that deals with the different aspects of the Church's history. However, the bibliography does not limit itself to Church history stricto sensu: every theme touching Church history is covered (political history, social and economic history, archaeology, history of art, music, architecture, relations with Islam and Judaism, etc.) which makes the RHE a first line tool for the different disciplines.
- Rhizome (For access to all of the features in Rhizome, create a login using an ‘@wustl.edu’ email account.)
Rhizome is a leading organization for new media and internet art. It is dedicated to the creation, presentation, preservation, and critique of emerging artistic practices that engage technology. The ArtBase in Rhizome is a growing online archive of over 2,500 works of new media art. It includes artists from around the world employing materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers towards aesthetic and critical ends.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1969 - )
Journal index. Major international abstracting and indexing publication for music, music theory, musicology and ethnomusicology. Updated quarterly. More info
- RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive music bibliography providing extensive coverage of music literature dating before 1967, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature contains 20,000 records that include abstracts and detailed indexing of music-related articles, books, review, collections of essays, conference proceedings, and Festscriften.
- RIPM (1800 - 1950)
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, highly annotated bibliography with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich--all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors. RIPM is updated biannually and currently indexes the contents of 120 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. RIPM's highly annotated indexing is based upon a detailed analysis of the content.
- In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.
- RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
Published by the Répertoire International des Sources Musicale - RISM (International Inventory of Musical Sources) is an international, non-profit joint venture, which aims to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. The organization, founded in Paris in 1952, is the largest and only global operation that registers musical sources. RISM documents what exists and where it is stored.
RISM - Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 is the most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts containing more than 657,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries including: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Italy, Japan, The Netherlands, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, Uruguay and the United States.
- Rock's Backpages
"Covering five decades of history, the 17,000 articles, interviews, and reviews that comprise Rock's Backpages showcase rock journalism's renegade spirit. Rock's Backpages represents the gold standard of rock writing, says Bruce Connolly. It combines an irresistible lineup of classic fanzines‚ Punk, Trouser Press, Bomp, and Creem‚ with more mainstream staples of the popular music press, including Spin and Rolling Stone. British publications are also included, such as New Musical Express, Uncut, and Mojo, a magazine for which several members of the Backpages team have either edited or written. Additional temptations, says Connolly, include a discussion forum, audio interviews, writer profiles, and links to radio stations and rock-related websites. It's an essential resource for modern and contemporary music libraries and even cultural studies collections" Description taken from Library Journal Reviews - December 7, 2011.
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
The collection draws from materials in the Wordsworth Trust, Dove Cottage, Grasmere, UK. The bulk of the material is comprised of William Wordsworth’s original verse manuscripts, working notebooks and some printed, annotated, editions. Other types of material include scrapbooks, autograph books, letters, diaries, travel journals, financial records and receipts, and verse manuscripts by other Romantic writers including Samuel Taylor Coleridge and Thomas de Quincey, and landscape paintings and drawings of the Lake District by such artists as Thomas Gainsborough, J.M.W. Turner, Joseph Wilkinson and John Constable.
- Roper Center
Polling data. The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The Weidenbaum Center on the Economy, Government, and Public Policy has subscribed for all of Washington University.
These combined services permit you to locate questions and topline results in iPOLL and then download the documentation and datafiles for the studies. Please see these user responsibilities.
- This membership includes on-demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress. Search the catalog of data set holdings.
- Membership also offers access to iPOLL, a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. (free registration required for some services/features)
- Rotunda: American Founding Era and 19th-Century Literature and Culture
Full-text. Contains numerous historical collections of letters, journals, and other papers, including those of Dolley Madison, George Washington, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson. More info
- Roubini Global Economics
A leading independent, global economic research and investment strategy consulting firm founded by Nouriel Roubini. Their team of nearly 50 economists, strategists and analysts cover all regions of the globe providing macroeconomic analysis, strategic recommendations, and actionable advice. You will need to register with a WU email address to access this site; only accesible on-campus, not via the proxy server.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (1 concurrent user allowed)
Full text. More than 2,000 entries, continually updated and revised, covering 'an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.' (from About REP/Background) One concurrent user; please Logout when finished.