Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- National Climatic Data Center Online Document Library
Contains several databases and publications: Local Climatological Data; Climatological Data; Hourly Precipitation Data; Storm Data; Monthly Climatic Data for the World; COOP Data/Record of Climatological Observations Form; Climatological Data National Summary; and more. Note: available only on-campus, not from off-campus (no proxy access). Free due to WU Libraries' status as a US Federal Depository Library.
- National Journal Services
Full-text. Includes access to the National Journal, the Hotline, Congress Daily, and other politics, policy, and government information. More info
- Natural Product Updates (2000 - )
Current information in natural product chemistry, providing quick access to recent signficant advances in the subject. Updated monthly. More info
- Naver News Library
Full-text Korean newspaper article database includes Kyonghyang Sinmun(1946-1999), Tonga Ilbo (1920-1999), Maeil Kyongje (1966-1999), and Han'gyore (1988-1999), searchable by date, title, keyword, etc.
- Naxos Music Library (NML) - Classical and Jazz only
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 170,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
- NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Data
A cornucopia of links to statistical information from a wide variety of sources prepared by the NBER. Emphasis is on U.S. but some other country data is also available. Also contains NBER Working Papers.
- NCES (National Center for Education Statistics) DataLab
Statistics compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics, which is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
- NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database (1970 - )
Covers corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime. More info
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Full-text. 'The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 of the world's leading economists.' (from database homepage) More info
- New York Amsterdam News, Historical (1922-1994)
The New York Amsterdam News, leading Black newspaper of the 20th century, reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
- New York Review of Books
The New York Review of Books is a semi-monthly magazine with articles on literature, culture and current affairs.
- The New York Times
Available through LexisNexis Academic. More info
- New York Times, Historical (1851 - 2008)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More info
A compilation of websites of US and international newspapers, US radio and TV stations, and a selection of magazines worldwide. Search Hints:
Individual sites may be searchable but searching across sites is not possible. Policies for printing archived articles also vary; you may be required to pay for articles. Consider using ILLiad once you've identified relevant materials.
- NIH RePORTER (Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool) (1986 - )
Searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. More info.
- Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei (1 concurrent user allowed)
Online database version of the 51 volumes of Japanese historical gazetteer. Includes 200,000 headings and function of creating spreadsheets and distribution maps. This is a shared subscription with 10 other universities in the United States. Please be considerate of our partner institutions by logging out when you are finished.
- Nikkei Telecom 21
Full text search through 64 newspapers, including The Nikkei (former The Nihon Keizai Shimbun), The Nikkei Business Daily, The Nikkei Financial Daily, The Nikkei MJ, Asahi Shimbun, Yomiuri Shimbun, Mainichi Shimbun and Sankei Shimbun, and 59 magazines going back 30 years. Other resources include Nikkei corporation profile, Nikkei Who's who, stock quotations, bond quotations, economic indicators, market forecasts, and in English, Nikkei weekly and Nikkei major articles.
- 19th Century British Library newspapers, pts 1-3
19th Century British Library Newspapers, made up of 48 daily and weekly publications, provides the serious researcher with the most comprehensive range of national and regional newspapers in Victorian Britain available in a digital collection.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture both popular and high. Gale Digital Collection's international board of scholars, working in tandem with advisors for each of the program's archives, will steer the program's direction and help to identify the collections that most enhance it--for scholars and students alike.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (1800 - 1900)
Full-text. Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Note: Also searchable as part of Gale NewsVault. More info
- 19th Century UK Periodicals, pts. 1 -2
19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of many facets of British life in the Victorian age. Series 1, New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humor and Leisure/Sport charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding with literacy and leisure. Series 2, Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics,Missionary and Colonial includes titles from India, Canada, South and East Africa, Australia and New Zealand alongside British titles, and covers both the economic and non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism.
- NLM Gateway (1989 - )
Meeting abstracts and health services research grants and contracts from U.S. National Library of Medicine. More info
- Norfolk Journal and Guide, Historical (1921-2003)
The Norfolk Journal and Guide was the only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time.
- North American Theatre Online
Full-text. A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. More info
- North American Women's Drama
Full-text. Presently contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More info
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950
Full-text. Published letters and diaries from women writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. More info
- NTIS/NTRL (National Technical Reports Library)
'The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.' This is a subscription site that includes indexing for 2 million+ titles with links to over 600,000 full-text reports (in PDF). More info