Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- JapanKnowledge Plus N (2002 - ) (8
concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Dictionaries, an encyclopedia, a biographical dictionary, a news database, and other information sources. More info
- JCRweb (1997 - )
Journal Citation Reports provides information on journal rankings in the sciences and social sciences. More info
- Jerusalem Post (3 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text, 60 days ago to the present.
Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
The Jewish Advocate serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.
Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
The Jewish Exponent has carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life. Along the way, it has garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
Jewish Life in America, 1654-1954
This collection, containing materials from the American Jewish Historical Society, New York, is an indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today. The collection addresses key topics such as the evolution of early Jewish Settlements in areas such as New York, Rhode Island and Philadelphia; the immigration process and structures of support for those arriving from the Old World; differing strands of Judaism in America; the role of the synagogue as a focal point for Jewish communities; the development of Jewish schools and charitable institutions; and Jews’ involvement in civil rights and minority rights issues.
- John Milton Bibliography
"This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799." More info
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
"...a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods." (from database homepage)
- Journal of Emily Shore (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Welcome to the Journal of Emily Shore: Revised and Expanded, edited by Barbara Timm Gates. Shortly after our print edition was issued in 1991, two manuscript volumes of Emily Shore’s journals surfaced and were acquired by the University of Delaware Library. This digital edition, newly edited by Prof. Gates, integrates the 1991 edition with transcriptions of the manuscript material.' (from database homepage) More info
Full-text. Journal index. JSTOR consists of the complete back runs of almost 500 journal titles, from whenever each title began publication to a point 3 or 5 years ago. More info