Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
Full-text. Provides instant access to over 700 United States industries. There are also many other reports such as the new "Global" Industry Reports covering world industry analysis. In addition to the core Industry Report product, they also publish over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles as well as hundreds of Economic & Demographic Profiles.
- IBR Online (1985 - )
Officially titled: Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen or International Bibliography of Book Reviews, contains over 990,000 entries for book reviews, primarily from Humanities and Social Science journals. More info
- IBZ Online (1983 - )
Journal index. An index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge. Particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. More info
- ICPSR: the Inter-University Consortium for Social and Political Research
Access to very large computer data files in the social sciences, including election results, polls, surveys, and census. More info
- IEEE Xplore
Full text. Search and access the full-text of IEEE and IET journals, IEEE and IET conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
- Illustrated London News, 1842-2003
With its 1842 debut, The Illustrated London News became the world’s first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication included eyewitness accounts of war, descriptions of natural disasters, and reviews of arts and science. The Historical Archive supports disciplines ranging from politics and economics to graphics and science, providing primary sources, one-of-a-kind images and on-the-scene narratives.
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
Digitized texts, archives, and manuscripts selected from Harvard University's libraries, archives, and special collections to support teaching, learning, and research.
- In Principio (3 users)
The database contains over 1,000,000 incipits covering Latin literature from the Pre-classical Age to the Renaissance. It is aimed at all those scholars and libraries interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity and the Middle Ages. It is an inevitable tool when studying or publishing a particular text or to make an inventory of manuscripts.
- In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives
Provides in-depth indexing of oral history in English from around the world. Future releases will include other first-person content, including letters, diaries, memoirs, and autobiographies. More info
- Index Islamicus (1906 - )
Journal index. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. More info
- India, Raj and Empire
The Manuscript Collections of the National Library of Scotland has wonderful collections document the history of South Asia from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947. Sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. There are original Indian manuscripts containing histories and literary works, as well as accounts of wars, discussions of Indian Nationalism and papers of tea and coffee planters. The collection is particularly strong for the 18th and 19th centuries and will be of interest to scholars studying social and urban history, trade and economic development, agriculture, travel and antiquities, and Indian politics. The collection also contains sources covering Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia and Singapore.
- Index of Christian Art
From Princeton University; records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. More info
- Index to American Botanical Literature (late 1995 - )
From the New York Botanical Garden; entries deal with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics (traditional and molecular), floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany. More info
- Index to Hebrew Periodicals (IHP)
Abstracts of all major Hebrew journals from 1977 to date with the exception of weeklies and newsletters. IHP covers a variety of subjects with an emphasis on Judaica, literature, education, arts, law, social studies, public health, and current Israeli affairs (politics and society). Currently adding approx. 15,000 articles per year, from about 450 current titles. More than 50,000 bibliographic records are linked to full-text articles. The database is not limited to scholarly materials only, and while there is some overlap with RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988 - )
Journal index, some full-text. A comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. More info
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Current WU students, faculty, and staff may use this database in person at the WU Law Library, via WilsonWeb.
- IndexCat (1880-1961)
Online version of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. More info
- Indiastat (1 concurrent user allowed; click IP Login on site)
Statistics. Indiastat 'is a cluster of 51 sites including India-specific, Sector specific and State specific sites rendering its dedicated services to the research fraternity from academic, professional and corporate world with authentic and comprehensive compilation of secondary level socio-economic statistical data about India and its states on more than 35 variables.' (from About us on the site). Note: for full access click IP Login in blue banner on site. Please click Logout on blue banner when finished.
Includes more than 13,000 publications that you can search or browse the tables of contents. You can sign up for email table of contents alerts. More info
- INIS Database (International Nuclear Information System)
'This initiative provides easy access to reliable nuclear information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, including nonconventional literature, and makes nuclear knowledge readily available worldwide. Established in 1970, INIS represents the world’s largest database of scientific and technical literature on a wide range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health and industry. Currently, the INIS Database contains over 3 million bibliographic records and almost 200,000 full-text nonconventional documents, consisting of scientific and technical reports and other non copyrighted information.' (from database homepage)
- INSPEC (1898 - )
Journal index. Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and
electronics, computing and control, and information technology. More info
- International Aristotle Bibliography
"The International Aristotle Bibliography Online is a comprehensive research tool and gives access to books, articles, book reviews and dissertations on the philosopher Aristotle. The International Aristotle Bibliography Online covers more than 100 years of publication. It presents an invaluable resource for all those interested in (ancient) philosophy. Under the continued editorship of Richard Ingardia, the bibliography will be updated with hundreds of the most recent publications, as well as with additional entries from previous years."
- International Bibliography of Art (2008 - )
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records cover scholarship from the year 2008 to 2009, and ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951 - )
Some full-text. Provides indexing, abstracts and some full text; broad coverage of international material from over 100 languages and countries. More info
International Directory of Medievalists (3 users)
The International Directory of Medievalists Online is the continuation of the printed editions and contains 15,000 names and addresses of specialists from over 70 different countries with for the majority their fields of study.
International Encyclopedia for the Middle Ages (3 users)
The purpose of IEMA is to offer newly-written, commissioned, articles, fully peer-reviewed that supplement Lexikon des Mittelalters and offer supplementary notes to the original LexMA articles. The chronological range of IEMA is 300–1500 CE, and it covers all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.
- International Financial Statistics
Approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948. Includes exchange rates, Fund accounts and the main global and country economic indicators.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (1995 - ) (3 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text (partial). Provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text coverage of the most important music journals. More info
- International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (1997 - ) (3 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text (partial). '...the only online resource covering the performing arts. It enables you to search and browse citations, abstracts and selected full text in a comprehensive range of journals.' More info
- International Medieval Bibliography (1967 - ) (3 concurrent users allowed)
Journal index. '...the world's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.' Please logout when finished. More info
- IRIS (Now called Grant Forward)
Grants database that searches some 14,000 funding opportunities available to graduate students, faculty,
undergraduate students, and institutions. Available on the WUStL campuses due to a subscription by the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences. More info
Irish Times (1859-2011) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)
Explore nearly 150 years of the Emerald Isle’s turbulent history, rich culture, and complex political climate with The Irish Times (1859-2008) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). From the aftermath of the Great Famine, the launch of the Titanic, and the Easter Rising of 1916, to the World Wars, the Troubles, and today’s most pressing global social issues, Ireland’s “only independent newspaper” lends its authoritative voice to local and international events alike.
The historical Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting as well as sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, and more. Each issue contains in-depth analysis and lively debate of current events. The Weekly Irish Times’ coverage includes The Times Pictorial. These titles provide access to prominent columnists, including arts commentator Fintan O’Toole, satirist Miriam Lord, former Prime Minister Garret FitzGerald, and opinion editorial writers like Tony Blair and Bill Clinton.
- (Oxford) Islamic Studies Online (3 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. "...brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture,..." More
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
"Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources." More