Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
'The most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and I, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ).' (Proquest on behalf of Chadwyck Healey)
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
The Directory helps you to determine which journals typically publish manuscripts similar to yours or could be the best fit for your manuscript. The index in each Directory helps you match the characteristics of your manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes and acceptance rate.
The Directory also includes information on the style and format of most journals to further assist you in organizing and preparing your manuscripts. If a journal has its own set of manuscript guidelines, a link to these guidelines is provided in the Directory. Additionally, each entry indicates the use of a standard set of publication guidelines by a journal. For example, some journals use the Chicago Manual of Style or the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. The Directories now include a direct link to the journal's manuscript guidelines page.
Furthermore, the Directory describes the type of review process used by the editor(s) of a journal, type of review, number of reviewers, acceptance rate, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, number of copies required and manuscript topics. Information on the journals printed and electronic launch dates and ISSNs are also provided.
- Cambridge Collections Online
Full-text access to books in the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series. More
- Cambridge Histories Online
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
- Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD)
Contains crystal structure information for over 220,000 organic and metal organic compounds. More info
- CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online or via WorldCat.org
Contains about 95,000 works of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world. The scope of the collection ranges from 3000 BCE to the present, representing premiere examples of Asian, African, Latin American and Western art. Difficult-to-find contemporary art is one of its strengths. The content includes high-resolution images of photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles, books, installations, and architecture—plus audio-video and mixed media. Benefits of the interface include downloading high-resolution images, the ability to e-mail images and metadata for further study, and fast, powerful, Web-based searching. All content is rights-cleared for educational use.
- Campbell Collaboration
A database that includes "systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare." The library is searchable and freely available.
- Catalog of U.S. Goverment Publications (search via GPO MetaLib) (1976 - )
Index. The CGP contains bibliographic records for U.S. Government publications generated by GPO since July 1976. Many of the records within the CGP contain direct links to publications available online. The catalog is updated daily with new and historical publication records, making the CGP the central point for locating new and historical Government publications. More info
- Census [American Factfinder]
"The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year. By law, no one is permitted to reveal information from these censuses and surveys that could identify any person, household, or business." (from What We Provide on the site)
- Central and Eastern European Online Library
Full-text. 'C.E.E.O.L. is an online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 312 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.' (from database homepage) More
- Centre for Pacific Studies Literature (1986 - )
Journal index. Experimental database of publications related to Oceania. More
- Century Journal Project (Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education/Social Sciences, Economics/Management series) (1906 -1993)
A full text periodical database covering more than 1,000 most important scholarly periodicals published in China from the very early issue up to 1993. It integrates China Academic Journals (CAJ) database, which covers full text articles from 1994 to the present. To view full-text articles users need to download and install the CAJ Viewer software or Adobe Reader (with Chinese simplified font pack). More info
- CEPR Discussion Papers
Full text. Published by the Centre for Economic Policy Research, Discussion Papers 'disseminate research quickly in order to generate comment and suggestions for revision or improvement. They may have been presented at conferences or workshops already, but will not yet have been published in journals.' (from search page description)
- Chem Sources Online
Full-text. "...the most comprehensive chemical buyer's guide ever compiled." More info
- Chemical Abstracts (via SciFinder Web)
Journal Index. Covers journals in chemistry and related fields. More
Dictionary of chemical names and structures. More info
Full-text. Major chemical reference works from Chapman & Hall/CRC, searchable and browsable. More info
- Chicago Defender, Historical (1910-1975)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Subject coverage includes: historical local, regional and national news and multidisciplinary.
- Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849 - 1988)
Full-text. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More info
- China Academic Journals (Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education/Social Sciences, Economics/Management series) (1994 - )
A full text periodical database covering more than 4,000 major periodicals currently published in China, including full text articles that were published in or after 1994. It integrates Century Journals Project (CJP) database, which covers periodicals from the earliest issue through 1993. To view full-text articles users need to download and install the CAJ Viewer software or Adobe Reader (with Chinese simplified font pack). More info
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - )
Extensive collections of international think tank working paper texts, international conference proceedings, journal abstracts, book summaries, schedules of events, policy brief texts, economic statistics, and useful links. More
- CINAHL Plus (1937 - )
Index, some full-text. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. More info
- County and City Databook
The County and City Data Book is a convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the counties and cities of the United States. It is designed to serve as a statistical reference and guide to other data publications and sources. The latter function is served by the source citations appearing below each table and Appendix A, Source Notes and Explanations.
- Civil Engineering Database (1975 - )
Provides easy bibliographic access to all ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) publications. More info
- The Civil War: a Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865)
Full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. More info
Clase and Periódica (1975 - )
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. More info
- Cleveland Call and Post, Historical (1934-1991)
The Cleveland Call and Post was founded by Garrett Morgan, inventor of the gas mask and traffic light. Contributors included noted journalists Charles H. Loeb and John Fuster. The newspaper is well known for its support of the Scottsboro trial defendants with letters, clothing, stamps, and donations to the defense fund.
- The Cochrane Library
Provides Cochrane evidence-based reviews for interventions, therapies, and rehabilitation in the healthcare field. More info
- Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Search Hints: Notice in the example given over the search box, phrases are surrounded by quotation marks ("drug enforcement administration"), while connectors (AND, OR, NOT) are capitalized.
- CollegeSource Online is no longer available, due to budget cuts.
- Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text of over 250,000 poems, and 450,000 poem citations. Create your own anthology by signing up for a free MyGranger's account; share folders with your friends and colleagues. Search not only by words in poems, subject, and author but also by gender, schools and movements, language, forms, nationality, era, and cultural identity. Use the split screen function to compare two poems side by side. Also included are audio recordings of some poems, and a history and criticism section with the full-text of award-winning books on poetry.
- Communication Abstracts (EBSCO) (1977 - )
Index. 'A comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale, Communication Abstracts covers major communication-related articles, reports, chapters, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.' (database description on the site)
- Community of Science is now called PIVOT
"Provides global and local connections that strengthen research by exploring new avenues for funding and collaboration for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students." More info
- Compact Memory
Full-text. Contains some of the more important German-Jewish periodicals from the early 19th to the mid-20th century. It includes Der Orient, Die Welt, Menorah, Ost und West, and many more.
(1970 - )
Journal index. Covers all aspects of engineering. More info
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
"Covering such important events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict, Confidential Print: Middle East is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying the modern Middle East. These historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today."
- Congressional Record
The official records of House and Senate actions are kept in their respective journals, but a fuller record of proceedings is kept in the Congressional Record, which has been published by the Government Printing Office (GPO) since 1873. GPO publishes new issues of the record daily and transmits each new issue to the Library of Congress overnight. A new issue becomes available on THOMAS the following morning. Issues are available online from 1989 (the 101st Congress) to the present. Printed copies of the record may be found in Federal Depository Libraries, including the collections at Olin and the Law Library. This database is also searchable through GPO Access.
- Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
Full-text. Congressional hearings from 1824 to the present. Part of ProQuest Congressional. More info
- Congressional Research Digital Collection
Full-text. Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (from 1830-present). Part of ProQuest Congressional. More info
- Contemporary Authors (2008 - )
Full-text. 'A biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Information is provided by the authors themselves or drawn from published interviews, feature stories, book reviews and other materials provided by the authors/publishers.' (from ebook homepage) Includes all volumes from Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors - New Revision Series purchased by the Libraries.
- Contemporary Women's Issues is no longer available. Please use Gender Studies Database for similar content.
- Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945 (Archives Unbound)
Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
- CQ Almanac (1945 - )
Full-text. 'Since it was first published in 1946, CQ Almanac has been the definitive annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress. Building on the reporting and analysis done throughout the year by CQ's award-winning news staff, the Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics. Its clear and concise language makes the Almanac an essential resource for scholars, journalists, interested citizens, and students of the U.S. legislative system.' (from About CQ Almanac Online Edition)
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Search and link to the full-text of the CQ Guide Series ebooks.
- CQ Researcher (1991 - )
Full-text. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week; topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology. More info
- CQ Weekly
(1983 - )
Full-text. 'Your complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and more.' More info
- SCI-TECHnetBASE is now called CRCnetBASE
Full-text. Over 5,000 full-text books across the sciences, fully searchable and browsable. NOTE that the Libraries subscribe to most but not all the full-text content found on this site. More info
- CrossRef Search
Filtered Google search of several journal publishers' web content. More info
- C-SPAN Video Library
'The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible...The Archives records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed making the database of C-SPAN programming an unparalleled chronological resource.' (from About C-SPAN Video Library)
- Current Index to Statistics (1975 - )
Journal index. An index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. More info
- Current Protocols (1987- )
Full-text. Science research methods and protocols. The Washington University Libraries and Becker Medical Library
currently subscribe to different titles which can be searched all at once or separately. More info