Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University
community. Information about access
from outside WU campuses.
- Baltimore Afro-American, Historical (1893-1988)
The Baltimore Afro-American was the most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
- Basque Database (1995 - )
Index with selected full text. Indexes articles, books, chapters of edited books, dissertations, and other publications. Included are Basque-related videos and DVDs, musical recordings, maps, and other media.
Citation index of all published research on German literature and language. More info
- Beilstein (via Reaxys)
For students in Organic Chemistry. Reaxys provides reaction and substance data searching along with synthesis planning. It is an intuitive web-application with powerful and flexible search capabilities, including searching by reaction, substance, and/or numeric property data. Reaxys integrates all chemical information from the former Beilstein and Gmelin databases. For more information see this Reaxys Overview or the Reaxys Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
- BELIT Bioethics Literature Database
Covers bioethics worldwide including monographs, grey literature, legal documents, journal articles, newspaper articles and book contributions. More info
- Berg Fashion Library
'The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more... Students and scholars in disciplines as diverse as anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, museum studies, theatre, and cultural studies as well as fashion and textiles will find the Berg Fashion Library a treasury of fascinating insights into people and cultures all over the world.' (from About page on the site)
Bertolt Brechts Werke
This is the first authorised electronic edition of Brecht's works, which is based on Bertolt Brecht - Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden - Jubiläumsausgabe um 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf. Brecht's works and writings are collected in six volumes with brief notes on each text.
- Bibliografía Mesoamericana
Index. The coverage includes books, edited volumes, festschrifts, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations and theses, obituaries (2 pages +), CD-ROMs, audio and video tapes, and films pertaining to Mesoamerica... The geographical coverage includes conventional regional coverage of Mesoamerica as defined by Paul Kirchoff (México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador), including Valley of México; Puebla; Oaxaca; Northern and Central Veracruz; Southern Veracruz and Tabasco; West México; North Central México; Morelos; Huasteca; Central Chiapas; Soconusco; Guatemalan Pacific Coast; Guatemalan Highlands; Southern Maya Lowlands; Northern Maya Lowlands; El Salvador; Honduras west of the Río Ulúa. (from About the Bibliografía Mesoamericana)
Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale (3 users)
The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BCM) has been established by the Centre d’Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale (Université de Poitiers) and aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - )
References to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. More info
- Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
Index. An authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day. This new service is a partnership between the Royal Historical Society, the Institute of Historical Research and Brepols Publishers. Previously known as the Royal Historical Society Bibliography.
- Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640
Index. 'The Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 has evolved into a still-growing list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. It identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.' (from database homepage)
- Bibliography of the History of Art
No longer updated; a free archival version has been made available on the Getty website. For more current content going forwards, please use International Bibliography Art. More info
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
'The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL). BHL content may be freely viewed through the online reader or downloaded in part or as a complete work in PDF, OCR text, or JPG2000 file formats.' (from database homepage)
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (2 concurrent users allowed)
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world; more than 16.9 million biographical sketches. More info
- Biography Reference Bank (1 concurrent user allowed)
Coverage of more than 660,000 people, including more than 36,000 images, and links to related full-text articles. This subscription includes both Biography Index and Current Biography Illustrated. More info
- Bioone Abstracts and Indexes (1998 - )
Electronic journal articles from Bioone and other biology journal citations. Note: WU has fulltext access to BioOne.1 collection, but not BioOne.2. More info
- Biosafety Database, "Bibliosafety" (1990 - )
Covers biosafety and risk assessment in biotechnology, especially the environmental release of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs). More info
- Birds of North America Online
Species accounts from 1992-2002 paper set plus many revisions and new accounts, audio and video galleries for many species. From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and the American Ornithologists' Union.
- Black Drama
Full-text. Contains approximately 1200 plays by 200 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More info
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th century (History Vault)
Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format for the first time. Module one consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers, and the second module is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, and Black literature index. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
- Black Thought and Culture
"Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material."
'The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.'
An online glossary explains terms as BLS uses them.
- Book of Odds
Book of Odds is a searchable online database of "odds statements," the probabilities of everyday life. You can search it by keyword or by the odds themselves - for instance, how many things stand a 1 in 142 chance of happening to you.
- Book Review Index (1 concurrent user allowed)
Journal index. A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. More info
- Books in Print (new interface) or Books in Print (old interface)
Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audio books, ebooks, and videos from all English-speaking countries. You might also want to try Amazon.com. More info
Boston Globe (1872-1981)
In the late 1800s and early 1900s, Boston, already one of America’s largest cities, was struggling to absorb the immigrants that continued to pour onto its shores. It was a time of rapid industrialization, technological innovation, and urban development. It also was an era that saw a dramatic rise in the cost of living, the deterioration of labor relations, and an increase in poverty and crime. By the mid-20th century, Boston had entered a period of decline, which was followed by controversial urban renewal projects and an economic boom in the 1970s.
Whether your researchers are interested in genealogy, “Yankee” perspectives on local and national events, politics, culture, urban development, business, religion, or other topics, The Boston Globe (1872-1979) provides a window through which to study firsthand this fascinating time and place in American history.
- Britannica Online
Full-text. Encyclopedia. More info
- Access to British Humanities Index has ceased, due to budget cuts. Please contact your subject librarian for suggestions of other resources to consult.
- British Periodicals Collection I and II
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- Burney Collection Newspapers (17th & 18th Century)
Full-text. 'The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection ...totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.' More info
- Business Insights (Gale)
Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world. Featuring the tools you need to interpret a global business landscape: robust data sets; visualization tools to help you develop data-driven insights; case studies to broaden your perspective on real-life situations
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost©) (1965 - )
Full-text. Journal index. Business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Full text articles from more than 7,400 business journals and other sources. Updated daily. More info