Accessing STN Databases
The Washington University Libraries subsidize access to databases on the STN system for faculty and graduate students in the science departments on the Danforth campus. Access to STN databases requires a userid and password; to request one, please contact your Subject Librarian.
Hours:The userid & password assigned to you will work during
these hours:
- Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm - 5:00am
- Friday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
- Saturday 2:00am - 5:00pm
If you need access to an STN database during business hours, Monday-Friday, please go to your science library. The librarian can log you on with a library-staff password on a library workstation, or will make arrangements for you to have a daytime password as well as an evening password.
Interfaces/access methods:There are now three interfaces available on the STN
system:
- via telnet, at telnet://stnc.cas.org
- via STN on the Web, at http://stnweb.cas.org/html/english/a_index.html (for academic port, put in C)
- via STN Easy, at http://stneasy.cas.org/html/english/login1.html
Please see this overview of the options and capabilities of each interface. Some databases accessible via telnet and STN on the Web are not available via STN Easy.
Training/documentation:
We strongly encourage you to read one or more of these help files before connecting to an STN database:
Additional STN documentation (user guides, quick reference guides) is also available.
Cost:The WU Libraries subsidize your access to these databases. However, you may be held responsible for charges incurred on the userid & password assigned to you. Do use it as needed for research and education purposes; however we do ask that you use it wisely.
Databases:Complete list of over 200 STN databases. Note: Many of these are blocked because we have arranged other access for this data at the WU campus.

