|
Skip navigation
|
|
About SCI-TECHnetBASE
| Subject |
Over 3,100 full-text books across the sciences, fully searchable and browsable. Topics covered include the biomedical sciences, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, engineering, environmental science, ergonomics and human factors, food science, forensics and criminal justice, healthcare, information technology, life science, material science, math, medicine, nutrition, pharmaceutical science and regulation, physics, and statistics.
|
| Sources |
See above. |
| Dates
Covered |
Current editions. |
| Help
Documents |
- Help option available within database.
- Tips for opening the chapter PDFs: When you connect to a book in this collection, you're viewing a PDF of the table of contents. The chapters are separate PDFs; the chapter titles are clickable if the table of contents PDF opens inside your browser.
- If you're on a Mac you need to use Safari - which opens PDFs within the browser - rather than Firefox, which opens PDFs using the Mac PDF Viewer, which is outside the browser and thus the chapter links on the table of contents are not clickable.
- To use the Adobe Reader plug-in when running Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) and Safari 4, you must run Safari in 32-bit mode. To do so, quit Safari. Go to your Applications folder and single-click on Safari to select it. Press
-I or select File > Get Info in the menu bar to display Safari's Get Info window. Check the box next to "Open in 32-bit mode". Relaunch Safari. There are some speed and stability trade-offs when running Safari in 32-bit mode. For more info, please see this article.
- You may need to adjust the settings in your Adobe Acrobat software:
- Open up your Adobe Acrobat program
- Click on Edit from the top menu
- Click on Preferences.
- In the left hand column (labeled Categories), click on Internet
- Place a check mark in the box next to "Display PDF in browser"
- Click OK
- Exit Adobe Acrobat
- Go to the book title in the catalog and click on the WUSTL Full Text link (or access the book via the database link on this page)
You should now be able to click on the highlighted chapter titles, which should then open as separate PDF/Adobe files. If this doesn't work, try restarting your computer (so the changes you made in Adobe can take affect) and try it again.
|
| Print
Counterpart (backfiles) |
None for the database as a whole. See records for individual titles in the online catalog. |
| Provider |
Taylor & Francis Group |
| Access |
On the web, limited to current WU students,
faculty, and staff. Access to
restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
|
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.
|