Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About North American Theatre Online

Subject

'North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre.

It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 25,000 plays, nearly 28,000 people, 3,000 theatres, 12,500 productions and 1,500 production companies. Each year we'll be adding more than 20,000 new records to these files.

The file also includes some 5,000 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

If your library has purchased or subscribes to any or all of the Alexander Street full-text drama collections, North American Theatre Online will serve as the tool to cross-search those databases. All the results will be seamlessly integrated into one search result.' (from database homepage)

The WU Libraries have purchased these collections: American Film Scripts Online, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, North American Women's Drama, and Twentieth Century North American Drama. Gift of Mary Wickes in honor of her parents Isabella & Frank Wickenhauser.

Sources See All Works description in database.
Dates Covered 1500 to present.
Help Documents Available within database; click on Help.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) No print counterpart for the collection itself; individual works may be searched in the online catalog.
Provider Alexander Street Press.
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.