Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Save Time! Ask Us

Skip navigation
vertical bar

About Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries

Connect to Database
(8 concurrent users allowed; please log off when finished)
Subject

A full text database of Asahi Shinbun from 1945 to present. This database also includes Shûkan Asahi (from April 2000 to present), AERA (from May 1988, inaugural issue to present), Chiezo (latest issue) and Asahi Shinbun Jinbutsu (Who’s who) database.

Note: These 8 concurrent users are shared with 9 other universities in the United States. Please be considerate of our partner institutions by logging out when you are finished.

Another note: When accessing this database from off-campus via the proxy server, you will receive a certificate error. This is because the security certificate for the database server is database.asahi.com, and what your browser, by way of the proxy server, is sending it is database.asahi.com.libproxy.wustl.edu. This is safe; add the exception to your browser to use the database when off-campus.

New! 'To commemorate the company's 130th Anniversary, The Asahi Shimbun will be launching the Historical Photo Archive (hereinafter referred to as Archive) on the web... The Archive offers approximately 10,000 pieces of valuable historical photographs of the period between the 1930s and 1945. The Archive will be accessible from within Kikuzo II Visual as an optional database, and, although its price is scheduled to be announced sometime before April 2009, the Archive will be offered free of charge until the end of March 2010 to Kikuzo II Visual subscribers.

The Archive contains photographs taken in Asia (Manchuria, Vietnam, Pacific Ocean Islands, etc.) and Europe (Germany, England, etc.) from the 1930s and throughout the Second World War period. The photographs present a wide variety of subjects and genres, depicting cities, industries, markets, peoples and cultures, and some of them shall contain sceneries and people affected by the war. The Archive can be searched by keywords, bibliographic data, names of the places where photographs were taken, and also from a time-line.' (from an announcement by Kinokuniya Bookstores of America)

Sources See above.
Dates Covered See above.
Help Documents
Print Counterpart (backfiles)
Provider Arranged through Kinokuniya Bookstores of America
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.