Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Save Time! Ask Us

Skip navigation
vertical bar

About JapanKnowledge Plus N

Connect to Database
(8 concurrent users allowed; please log off when finished)
Subject Includes these resources:
  • dictionaries (Japanese, English-Japanese and Japanese-English)
  • the Nihon dai hyakka zensho (Nipponica), a full text 30 vol. encyclopedia
  • two dictionaries of current words: Imidas and Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki
  • a biographical dictionary: Nihon jinmei daijiten, the JK Who's Who
  • the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
  • a news database (NNA) that covers Asia and the European Union
  • a full-text journal: Shukan ekonomisuto
  • Edo meisho zukai
  • full-text of books in the Toyo bunko series
  • chronologies (world history, Japan by period, Japan by prefecture, science, culture, society, daily life, social movements, economics and for individuals)
  • Eizo kiroku (moving image archive)
  • URL database
  • books in print database

Note 1: These 8 concurrent users are shared with 10 other universities in the United States. Please be considerate of our partner institutions by logging out when you are finished.

In addition, these institutions share ONE concurrent user on Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei and Nihon Kokugo Daijiten/Nikkoku Online, both part of the JK Select Series.

Note 2: Parts of this resource are on a secure site (https, rather than http). Accessing it from off-campus via the proxy server will give you a security certificate error (because the URL has libproxy.wustl.edu in it, and the vendor's security certificate does not expect that). Accept the security certificate exception, if your browser gives you that choice, to continue.

Sources See above.
Dates Covered
  • Shukan ekonomisuto: Apr. 2002 -
  • Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki: Current
  • Imidas: Current
Help Documents
  • Available within database; click on Tutorial.
  • Workshop provided by East Asian Library upon request.
Print Counterpart (backfiles)
Provider NetAdvance, Inc.
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.