Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About Google Scholar

Subject Includes "scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web."
Access from off-campus While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not. As a member of the Washington University community, you have several options for reaching this restricted content from off-campus. Please see Proxy Options for Off-Campus Access which has a tip about setting your Google Scholar preferences.
Sources

Sources and coverage of Google Scholar are undefined. It certainly includes information from CrossRef, PubMed, Open WorldCatalog, and many scholarly publishers, such as ACM, Elsevier, IEEE, Springer, Wiley, etc.

Dates Covered Undefined; there are some older citations from the 1950's and 1960's but most of the retrieval will be after 1990.
Help Documents Help, advanced search and advanced search tips are available within database.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) No print counterpart.
Provider Google
Access Database itself freely available on the web. Access to full-text articles from WU subscribed journals limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.