Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa

Subject

'The struggles for freedom in Southern Africa were both a regional and global phenomenon. As such, documentation of the struggles is scattered around the world, reflecting the history itself: colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. The Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa Collection brings together materials from various sites throughout the world and makes them available online.' (from database intro page) Note: The Libraries have purchased this collection. Two other collections (African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, and African Plants) are available through the site, but you will not be able to access the full-text of those materials.

Sources '...more than 180 000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches.' (from database intro page)
Help Documents Available within database; click on Help.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) No print counterpart for the collection itself; individual works may be searched in the online catalog.
Provider Aluka; affiliated with JSTOR
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.